Nice Quotes #51: Aldous Huxley


SOURCE

After silence, that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music.

Aldous Huxley


RESOURCE


Feel free to vote up the quotes in the comments that you like the most. Vote them all up if you like them equally :)

Sort:  

Words can be like X-rays if you use them properly -- they’ll go through anything. You read and you’re pierced.

Facts do not cease to exist because they are ignored.

Actual happiness always looks pretty squalid in comparison with the overcompensations for misery. And, of course, stability isn't nearly so spectacular as instability. And being contented has none of the glamour of a good fight against misfortune, none of the picturesqueness of a struggle with temptation, or a fatal overthrow by passion or doubt. Happiness is never grand.

But I don't want comfort. I want God, I want poetry, I want real danger, I want freedom, I want goodness. I want sin.

You shall know the truth and the truth shall make you mad.

The more powerful and original a mind, the more it will incline towards the religion of solitude.

If one's different, one's bound to be lonely.

Maybe this world is another planet’s hell.

I wanted to change the world. But I have found that the only thing one can be sure of changing is oneself.

I want to know what passion is. I want to feel something strongly.

What a great quote and am very impressed with the fact.