Do You Believe in UFOs?

in #ufo6 years ago

I’ve had an interest in UFOs for many years. I’ve read books on the UFO phenomenon, listened to talks, watched videos and examined photographs, all of which I found very compelling.

There was a time in my life when this interest in UFOs deepened and I spent a lot of time delving into the matter. I had never personally had a sighting, and I really wanted to see one for myself. I would go out all the time on any clear night and stare up at the stars, hoping to see something amazing.

And one night, I did.

ufo-2559133_640.jpg

No, this picture is not what I saw! It's just a stock photo!

This is going back about 7 or 8 years now. It was 2am on an uncharacteristically perfectly clear night. I say uncharacteristically because here in Ireland, it rains about 400 days a year!

I was looking up at the stars as I had done many times in the past, and there it was. It looked like a bright star, but it was moving. Amazed, I watched this light as it traveled from the western horizon toward the east. There were no flashing lights on it like conventional aircraft have, and it definitely wasn’t the planet Venus.

I was astounded at just how fast it was moving. It covered in under 10 seconds the same distance it takes a jet about a minute to traverse. I wondered what it could be, and then felt somewhat deflated as I came to the conclusion that it was most likely just a satellite.

Still, I didn’t really know what it was, and it was so cool to finally see one of these things I had been reading so much about. I watched as it continued to move eastward past my position, smiling to myself.

And then I was totally blown away by what happened next.

Without slowing or so much as skipping a beat, this light made a sharp 90 degree turn and headed south. I was shocked and amazed at what had just happened. I was further astonished to see the light begin to dim as it traveled south. For a moment, this didn’t make sense, but then it finally dawned on me that the object must also be moving upwards, away from the earth, as it traveled south. Then it just faded away.

I stayed there for a few moments, looking around in awe, hoping to see another one. I didn’t.

So what was it? Well, I have no idea. Could it have been an alien space craft? Possibly. Could it have been secret government tech? Possibly. It definitely seemed to be under intelligent control as there was no way for it to perform the manoeuvres it did otherwise.

But here’s the point: I don’t know what it was. In fact, what it actually was is irrelevant. It was unidentified. It was a UFO.

So when people ask me if I believe in UFOs, I ask them if they believe in cars. And yes, they look at me like I’m crazy! Of course I don’t believe in cars! I don’t need to. There they are!

And I don’t believe in UFOs either. I don’t need to. They exist whether people want to acknowledge their existence or not.

Sort:  

Very well written article. How cool that you got to see that. I'm always looking up at the sky. Good luck in your hunt for one. Hopefully you can get some footage if you see one again.

Many thanks! I've had a couple other sightings that I'm less sure about, but this one just blew my mind. I would love to have been able to record it. Thanks so much for reading and commenting!

Congratulations @dpetrilla! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

It is certain

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Congratulations @dpetrilla! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dpetrilla! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @dpetrilla! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!