Refugee Hubs

in #uk2 years ago

Screenshot 2022-05-13 at 19.15.06.png

I went over to St Mary's, Shalford yesterday to help out with their first Community Lunch and English Lessons for Ukrainian refugees. There were about 30 people there, some of whom have arrived recently and are either staying with family who were already here or with local hosts.

It was heartening just to be able to welcome people, share some food and small talk with them. There's lots of Google Translate usage. I can't imagine being suddenly in a place where I didn't have much of the language - it was obviously a great relief for some of the people to have other Ukrainians to talk to about anything. They're all running a big local WhatsApp group too. I didn't stay for the English Class, there was a teacher taking them through basics.

A couple of these hubs have started in the last weeks. It's just the beginning though.

Sort:  

There are a few Ukrainians being housed around here, but I have yet to meet any. I really feel for them, especially as I met a fair few when I was over there for work.

Dear @lloyddavis, we need your help!

The Hivebuzz proposal already got important support from the community. However, it lost its funding a few days ago and only needs a few more HP to get funded again.

May we ask you to support it so our team can continue its work this year?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Your support would be really helpful and you could make a difference.
Thank you!