Face your fears bravely.

in #ulog6 years ago

Hi People,

I just had a talk with my mum with regards to my part-time degree a couple of days ago.

I came up with tons of explanations as to why I should not get a degree (those were excuses from her point of view.)

I told her like formal education is to make a living and self-education is to make a fortune. I also mentioned that the primary reason why I was able to achieve mini successes all these while was because of my burning passion.

I am 100% passionate about my job, I’m 100% passionate about my side hustles, I’m 100% passionate about steemit. But one thing I have zero passion for is STUDYING.

All these elaborations made her realized that I’m just avoiding my fear of studying. She called me out for it & momentarily I was ashamed of myself.

She left me with this sentence, “you can prove me wrong by achieving all sorts of successes. But it doesn’t matter to me. I only want you to prove me wrong by getting a degree.”

This short episode made me realized that if I do not remove this “tendency to avoid my fear”, I will be in deep trouble when I venture into entrepreneurship in the future.

School officially started today & I will take the upcoming 3 years as a test for myself to see if I’m able to handle a commitment despite having zero passion for it.

If I’m able to succeed, nothing is going to stop me.

Stay Hungry & Hustle Hard!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://darrylnyk.vornix.blog/2018/07/23/face-your-fears-bravely/

Sort:  

Bro I can feel you! You're struggling. Despite it may be different situations, most parents tend to hope that their kids are able to wear that graduation robes and square mortarboard, proudly holding the degree certificate paper one day. My mum did the same thing to me when I told her that I wanted to enroll in Multimedia Interactive Design instead of Engineering course. They just wouldn't get it.

I am not asking you to quit studying. Afterall I still enjoyed my 4 years boring study life. Remember what you told me? "you learn, you earn!" There's value you may not see it now but you may treasure it in the future. One thing though, if you really failed terribly in your first year exam, you better quit than crying a river!

Since you've decided to take the path, just walk the hell out of it! It's gonna be bloody tons of assignments, endless quiz and tests, many sleepless nights, your job and side-hustles commitment and still counting. No one ever said it's easy but as you titled this post, turn your fear into passion :)

Thank you so so much for committing time to write this comment! Wow, really did it’s job of convincing me to do my best.

Since I have already decided to study, I should give my best and maximize whatever I can learn from it instead of being bitter that i can’t change my environment. You are right!

But after giving my best & if I realize I still can’t cope, then I’ll drop 1/2 of my commitments!!

Thanks for this Sean!!

I didn't even realize I commented so long! I wanted to say more actually haha

Don't always thank me man! Thanks the future you :)

I came from the past, that's why I can relate. See, you've got my points real quick! what a badass fast learner! High 5!

hahahha hi-5! you will be a good teacher/lecturer in the future! very accommodating and patient!

definitely a good father!

Shit! What a sharp eye! I haven't told you that I was actually a private tutor as parttime, but had to quit 2 years ago due to my job commitment and my travelholic addicts.