WorkLife. #ULOG 7: A Love-Hate Relationship Story

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

About the Title.

  1. The first word that you will see in my succeeding blogs for the next 7 consecutive days is the topic of the blog.
  2. #ULOG is the trending tag right now in our Steemit community.
  3. The numerical value is my personal countdown of until when I intend to write using the #ULOG. For this case, it's gonna be a week-long series.
  4. The last phrase is the real title of the post.

wink.jpg

I'll start this entry by letting you guys know what my usual workday looks like.

I wake up. I prepare for work. I commute to get to work. I clock in. I consolidate our files. I listen to calls. I evaluate calls. I update trackers. I clock out. I commute to get back home. Then I start my work as a mom but, I'm not going to talk about my work as a mom in this blog post as I think it should have a separate entry of its own. Haha! (Working as a mom requires a lot more energy and effort than working as an employee so, hats off to all moms reading this post.) ☺

working-moms.jpg

Today though is not my typical kind of day at work. I've just sent an email blast yesterday regarding positive scripting so that the agents (people who assist customers regarding their payment and payment arrangement requests) can get a better survey score from our customers. Basically the script is trying to influence the customers' perception on how they have been assisted. Our challenge at work right now is to deliver bad news in a good way.

A team leader asked me about the scripting and said that her agents are getting confused because of the way the statements were phrased. She even asked me to recall the email to avoid misinformation. I tried to explain to her that we need to still show our customers that although we may not be able to help them out in protecting their phone services from getting restricted because they cannot pay their overdue balances right away, we can still protect their phone services from suspension. She did not get it. She focused on what can't be done instead of what CAN be done. It's kind of complicated, but given the fact that she is a team leader, she should be able to explain to her team the reasoning behind the scripting.

"Unbelievable. How can our agents know how to explain things to our customers if their own team leader can't explain it to them." This is the exact statement that was playing in my mind while our conversation was about to end. I was frustrated to the point that I almost wanted to cry. I asked my colleague if she understood the scripting and she said that she did. Before I got promoted, I was an agent too. I have been there. I know that delivering bad news is not easy, but hey, it is possible to still make the other person on the other line understand the reason why there is a bad news.

Why did I entitle my blog post for today "A Love-Hate Relationship"? It's because I hated my job today. I hated how the team leader questioned the scripting. I hated how the agents were confused about it. I hated that they are focusing more on what they can't do rather than what they can do. And I hated that I have to come up with another scripting that would best suit their level of understanding. BUT, I love my job. I am excited to conduct learning sessions about the benefits of positively positioning statements. I am happy that I still have the chance of making our agents more knowledgeable in their field. And I am ready to face tomorrow, as tomorrow is another day. #JUNEPLEASEBEGOODTOME Hahaha! ☺

Love-Hate.jpg

Now why did I blog about this?

  1. To encourage myself to do better and to react better next time.
  2. To encourage you, my readers, to love your job even while hating it at the same time. ☺

work1.jpg

I think having a love-hate relationship with our jobs is a healthy thing. It only means that we are human and we care about what happens in our job.

If you are to rate your love for your job, what rating will you give? And, if you are to rate your hate for your job, what would it be? I would love to know your answers to these questions in the comment box below. Hopefully this entry made you stop and think about how happy are you in doing the things that you do on a day-to-day basis at work. ☺

#ULOG #STEEMITPH #STEEMIT #UNTALENTED #STEEMPH #LOVE #HATE #WORK

work2.jpg

download.jpg

PS.
Pictures on this entry are not mine. I got them from Google.

https://goo.gl/images/Ap5Jt6

https://goo.gl/images/MJyYqt

https://goo.gl/images/pA6Mgb

https://goo.gl/images/pnTqcH

https://goo.gl/images/pWXrSN

https://goo.gl/images/k8k5YX

Sort:  

Congratulations @iamsandie! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @iamsandie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!