ULOG | Surpassinggoogle | No to Bullying

in #ulog6 years ago

A friend's daughter got recently bullied by an online troll for wearing a pair of "shitty old vans" over and over.

I wear a 3 year old pair of Vans in the office to date, it’s the same beat up shoes I wear in the streets, cycling. Yes, I'm proud to rock old clothing. My choice is not all about self-expression nor looking good in front of others, it's my personal preference influenced by practicality, comfort and contentment.

To the faceless coward, is that how you measure your worth? Maybe it's your life that is boring, and you're trying to mask it by wearing intricate clothing to peacock your wealth just to make yourself interesting. I’m sorry if Alee doesn't have to do any of that cause her awesome personality, achievements and good morals are more than enough to make her stand out.

What you wear doesn't define who you are, but your attitude and decisions do. And if you choose to continue this mean behavior towards others your worth is going to be less than the shoes you’ve called shitty.

I don’t condone bullying in any form and since grade school I always stand up for the ones being bullied. I teach Hailley the same thing and to have sensitive awareness of the feelings of others.

Together we can fight bullying by getting involve. The most effective way to keep children from being bullied, and from becoming bullies, is to build their self-esteem and empower them to be better humans.

Let me know your thoughts about bullying.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jennfer! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!