Ulog # 21: A New Perspective: Rain Appreciation Post

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Good day, fellow Steemians. I hope the day and it's circumstances isn't currently raining on your parade.

When thinking about rain, I can't help but remember Star Wars' Anakin Skywalker's line on his dialogue about sand, "I don't like sand. It's coarse and rough and irritating and it gets everywhere." On certain days, I feel similarly about rain. It's cold and drenching and uncomfortable and liable to make one sick. I don't know how you feel about the literal downpours, as for me, I must admit it's a bit of a downer sometimes. Rain gets inconvenient.

Yesterday I had an errand to accomplish at SM regarding our electricity bill. To get there, I had to ride a jeep from Quirino to Bajada, then a taxi from Bajada to Lanang. This can all be attributable to rain, if the heavens had not been mourning I could just have ridden a jeep to SM. The traffic gets worse when rain starts pouring, and vehicles get scarce.

My mood was starting to match the crying heavens, good thing I happened to look out the window Ahem, insert Moira singing some heart-wrenching song, and saw this view:

37092842_1867210233332917_833198177678000128_n.jpg

The said view made me rethink my somewhat bitter perspective of rain, sure it would have been irksome if I had been outside in the drenching rain. But witnessing that view while safe within the confines of the taxi made me think that rain had the capacity to temper harsh things, it made harsh lights prettier and sharp edges softer.

Even then, traffic was slowly becoming a bit of a bummer and was starting to worry me. I had to make it to SM in time before the payment center closed otherwise the effort would have been wasted. Incidentally, it was also the slow crawl of vehicles that allowed me to capture the following stunning image:

37296571_1867210153332925_8944527435555143680_n.jpg

To the beholder, it seems like decorative fairy lights. In truth, the white sparkly ones were just raindrops falling off the taxi's window, illuminated by a street lamppost. The view was so pretty that had I been late, it still wouldn't have stung so bad knowing I got something out of the seemingly annoying circumstances (rain, traffic, etc.)

The thing about life sometimes is that it is pretty; pretty annoying, pretty inconvenient, pretty bothersome, pretty triggersome (gigil mo si acoe). Then it turns things around by giving us sunsets, sunrises, moonlight, stars, flowers, rain aesthetics, and then it is pretty in a different, more agreeable way; pretty awesome, pretty worth it, and other pretty good things, truly pretty.

PS: I got to SM with about a couple of minutes to spare and was able to successfully pay our bills. Hah. Lucky rain, pretty rain.

'Till next #ulog! I hope you liked this one. stares dramatically out the window while drinking coffee in a quiet coffee shop as rain falls against the glass walls

All photos are mine taken with an Iphone SE.

36345282_1840631015990839_7927608728960892928_n.jpg