@onerace Ulog Day 12: Philippines Cat Superstitions

in #ulog6 years ago

33573929_1491418797637174_4697445086420533248_n.jpg

With my cute cat - Xion <3

Today I found Xion laying on the floor and I found it really cute so I decided to take a few selfies with him XD

Do you know that there are some instances where Filipinos have cat superstitions?

My granny used to tell me that there are so many things that made a cat interesting. She told me that cats aren't just simply an animal, in fact it symbolizes many things like thhe following:

1. When the cat's eye ( the black part) is small, then the sea is on high tide.

cat-3374422_960_720.jpg

Source: Pixabay

When Xion does this, I found him a lil scary ><

2. When the cat's eye (the black part) is big, then the sea is on low tide.

cat-3416713_960_720.jpg

Source: Pixabay

Xion looked so freakn adorable when he does this <3

3. Never let a cat sleep beside you at night because it might eat your soul - and you'll eventually die.

stock-photo-sleeping-young-man-with-fluffy-red-cat-376376491.jpg

Source: Pixabay

This one is a little scary, and I used to sleep with Xion but Granny would always scold me T^T

4. Are you familiar with "sulod" or most commonly known as lice comb? When you first buy it, you should comb it to your cat, in this way, your lice comb will be more effective. Granny used to call this process as "sumpa".

stock-photo-woman-combing-her-redhead-cat-715900171.jpg

Source: Pixabay

Right now we followed that belief and I think it was really effective XD

5. When your cat gave birth for the first time, make sure to secure the "meat" thingy that comes out with her baby. In that way, if you're a girl you won't have trouble giving birth in the near future.

stock-photo-female-feline-cat-give-birth-1075331900.jpg

Source: Pixabay

Welp, I haven't done this but once Fumy gives birth, imma give it a shot XD

6. When you're cat is cleaning itself (usually they lick their body as a sign of cleaning themselves) the direction it's feet or head is pointing is usually a place where bountiful of fishes are found.

stock-photo-beige-black-and-white-cat-cleaning-itself-on-a-garage-roof-721870504.jpg

Source: Pixabay

So, it would be great bringing a cat when you're out fishing, now isn't it? XD

33540555_1491418767637177_9127220672718700544_n.jpg

Since I'm a cat lover, I was quite amazed when I first heard this superstitions from Granny. Filipinos indeed have a lot of superstitious beliefs and what I have mentioned earlier was just one of the many. Amazing right? This beliefs made our (Filipinos) culture more colorful and interesting.

Sort:  

My aunt has a cat that sleeps beside her everyday. When I was young (before she bought the cat), she would buy me chocolates everytime she met me. Now, all I'm greeted with is a "hi". Her human soul was eaten up by that evil cat. I'm sure of it.

OMG, so it was true all along. My deepest sympathy Mr @dr0hith T^T

I'll share another one. Turn the other way if you see a cat while it's raining especially if it's black or else you will get hit by lightning. The cat might a kuring mundo a supernatural being that disguises itself as a cat.