#reflexivity: Field practicum at residential aged care

in #ulog5 years ago

In the next 40 years, where do you see yourself?

I have never thought that I will spend 500 hours working with the elderly in residential aged care. It has been a long and tough journey, there are good and bad things.
From a traditional Vietnamese background, I learnt that the most successful achievement of a woman is " having a good husband". I used to think that is so stupid when putting our successful into other's hand. Hence, after months in the assigned agency, I understand the reason behind. Until one turns to 90s, looking at who is still by your side reflecting your success. It is not easy to spend a few decades with someone! That journey takes lots of time and effort. There is one resident (P) in my agency. We spent lots of time together. Her husband (J) visits her on a daily basis. From the very first day, with dementia, she started to forget things and lose mobility. He gradually comes to visit her. Although now he needs the support of the walker, he comes every day. They have brekkie together.
To me, P is not verbally active. She prefers using gestures. But one day, she whispers to me " I love J". It is touching to me.
At the end of the day, money and fame will not make you happy. Love is the only thing that lights your day ...
IMG_0845.jpg

Dear my future self,

I know that with your birdy memory, you may forget about these things.
Since 18s, we keep asking ourselves, who do I want to be in the future?
Honestly, I am still wondering around to find my own way. Choosing to be a social worker, I am not sure whether it is the right decision or not. However, at the moment, what I have recognised so far is social work has taught me to be a better version of myself. I am starting to consider others' perspective, vulnerabilities and difficulties. I start to respectfully listen to others' point of view though I don't agree with them. Simultaneously, I start to open myself to others. Taking time to proactively listen to others' advice will support your horizon.
Anyway, I wish the best of luck!
Regards,
IMG_0746.jpg