ULOG 070 - Fathers Day Breaky, amended rocket stove design and garden update

in #ulog6 years ago

ULOG 070 - Fathers Day Breaky, amended rocket stove design and garden update

Like every year, today San's school has organised a breakfast event for Fathers Day in advance. I took him to the school at 7.30 am. For breaky we had a egg and bacon sandwich and a coffee for me.

IMG_6078.JPG

After breakfast, San wanted to listen to the school band practicing their piece, so we went in the school hall and enjoyed the music for 15 minutes.

IMG_6079.JPG

We then went out and had fun listening to people telling jokes, we played bowling and then went to kick the ball in the school yard.

IMG_6080.JPG

Friday is my new day working from home so it was great timing for this event. I got to stay until he got into class at 9 am before heading back home to start working.

IMG_6081.JPG

The day went by without issue at work and at 2.45 pm, I went pick San from school and came back to continue working until 5pm. It was rainy during the day but in the arvo the sun came out so I decided to play with the rocket stove again and we could have an evening BBQ.

As I walked in the garden I noticed that some plants in the garden have started to come back to life.

Here is the common mint:
IMG_6083.JPG

And the Valerian I bought in the Autumn, I want to use it in combo with lemon balm and catmint to help me sleep better.

IMG_6084.JPG

Few ULOGs ago, I showed rocket stove/bbq combo design I came up with. The BBQ side was a bit small, so I modified it to be slightly larger. I needed to put it to the test so tonight we are going to grill some food!

IMG_6086.JPG

The charcoal is ready to be poured into the BBQ area.

IMG_6087.JPG

My wife came back from the shopping with some chicken and prawns. The prawns went in first.

IMG_6089.JPG

Here is an overview of the modified design:

IMG_6088.JPG

As you can see from the photo below, there is a first wire mesh at one brick layer high that holds the coal, the air can come from below to keep the coal red and hot. Then the cooking grill is placed two brick layers above the coal. We found later on that it was too high but one layer of brick is too low. So next time, I will use one layer but with the bricks turn on the side so they are slightly taller, just like the top layer in the photo below.

IMG_6091.JPG

The rocket stove unit has also been modified with a vertical fuel input chamber so that the wood would fall by itself as it is being consumed by the fire.

IMG_6090.JPG

Due to the rain, all the wood in the garden was wet so I took this heat treated pallet wood but it wasn't great, too big but still I was able to boil the water to make some hot chocolate and tea for everyone.

I'm very close to the perfect design for us.


Previously on my Ulog:


Vote for my witness
On Steem, Witnesses are playing the important role of providing a performant and safe network for all of us. You have the power to choose 30 trusty witnesses to package transactions and sign the blocks that will go in the Steem blockchain. Vote for me via SteemConnect to help me do more useful projects for the communities.


I'm a member ofthese communities
Team Australia BannerTeam Vietnam banner
Steemit French community bannerHomesteaders Online

Credits

  • The image at the top has been generated with the Canva app using my own photo.

Protect your money against Phishing Scam!

Cryptos accounts are the target of international scammers because they want your hard earned money!

Those people are very clever and in a moment of inattention, you've given them your login and password!

I've created a Chrome extension that can help you detecting scam links!

Install Steemed Phish Chrome desktop browser extension now!

Password and Private Keys security

You all know that your Steem password is the access to all your STEEM, SBD, posting, transferring, everything... right?
So, please, follow these simple steps and keep yourself safe:

  1. Apart from the initial setup of your account, NEVER use your password ANYWHERE, if stolen, it will give full control to your Steem account.
  2. Backup your password and keep it somewhere safe. Use a password manager like Lastpass, print it on paper and put it in a safe (no kidding). If you forget your password, no one can help you out.
  3. To login for creating content and curating, use your Private Posting Key
  4. To make transfers and account operations, use your Private Active Key
  5. To encrypt and decrypt memos, use your Private Memo Key
Sort:  
UpvoteBank
Your upvote bank
__2.jpgThis post have been upvoted by the @UpvoteBank service. Want to know more and receive "free" upvotes click here

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 18 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 192 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Anh ơi chỉ em cách kiếm tiền trên steemit với,mong anh giúp đỡ

Congratulations @quochuy! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!