You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ULOG 23: A quiet holiday in Kuala Lumpur while I work

in #ulog6 years ago

My day started with getting up at one AM to get the spouse to the airport before five. Then, I took the dogs for a walk in the park and was home at seven.

After that, I spent five hours doing outdoor work removing a large climbing rose vine that was beyond the trimming stage in its life. It was way too hot for that in the direct sunshine! In addition to getting multiple stings from wasps the day before, I was not in a Steemit mood afterwards.

In short, life happens and that does not always include doing things I would prefer to be doing. I was mentally working on a short story, and it is still in active memory...along with the outdoor project I started before the hurricane passed through last weekend.

I must enjoy it or I would not keep at it. Maybe.

Travel? I think about it but would also carry the guilt of not being doing something productive with my time. Too much Puritan work ethic, I think.

Sort:  

I write in my head too. This is why I do not mind waiting in lines. Travel is productive. It restores your soul and broadens your horizons. And you can make money writing about your travels :)

SOME people can make money writing about travel.

I outline and compose stories all the time. My problem is having the time to sit and focus my thoughts and actually write. I have fragments everywhere, including 106 pages of a book I cannot get back to.

My "quiet time" is when I hear the voice of guilt reminding me that there are chores to be done.

Isaac Asimov wrote his books over a three day weekend. Over 200 of them. Don't I wish!