It's Monday! Bring On The Crochet Contest!

in #ultimatecrochet6 years ago (edited)

Where are my crocheters at?

Starting a new week means we get to plan new things. What better way than to plan on crocheting something new?

I am bringing back the crochet contests to the platform. I am excited to see what you have all been spinning up.

It is winter here so I too have started making up a few things. I had made a slouchy beanie for a dear friend with dreads. I have made a multicolored had with big pom poms using variegated yarn and I started making another with the same yarn to make a cat had for children.

I still need to add some black around the eyes, make a mouth, sew in the eyes and ears. Hoping a special kiddo would like something like this.

Ok enough of me. I wanna see what you do!

Rules of THE ULTIMATE CROCHET CONTEST:

  • Write a post about what you created, including one or more pictures. I want to be able to give extra support to my fellow Steemians. A crocheted piece is something to take to heart.

  • Share your post with me by putting up your link in the comments section on this post.

  • EDITED I somehow lost track with what I was writing and forgot to add the time frame. As it was before, I will be running these contests for 2 weeks (14 days).

  • I do ask for you to please share this contest. I understand some people have their standards and would rather not, so it is not mandatory. But please know that the more eyes on this post, in which....

An upvote is much appreciated but also not mandatory. The payout of this post is what I can give out for prizes at this moment. The more this post makes, the more you win.

How it works
I will be asking someone different every contest to help me choose the top 3. For this first contest, I will split the amount between the 3 contest winners. As the contest grows, the more I can give out rewards.
For everyone that participates I will be resteeming your post and upvoting. My upvote isn't worth much but I am working on that.

So! Crocheters, are you ready?????

Get those fingers, yarns and hooks and string me up some pieces!

UPDATED!!!I have received a wonderful gift from @artemisnorth of 5 Steem to put towards the contest! This will help immensely. Thank you so much!

Foxyspirit.jpg

Sort:  

hello chicas, hola @foxyspirit, espero esten bien, aqui dejo el link de participación al concurso, espero les guste. lo hice con mucho cariño para que todas pasemos una feliz navidad bien abrigaditas. https://steemit.com/cervantes/@carolinacardoza/theultimatecrochetcontestbufandadesantaclaustejidaencrochet-v8cmtwegsd

So I totally procrastinated on this until just now but here you go =3 I hope you enjoy it even though it wasn't something I made these past two weeks.
https://steemit.com/crochet/@bluebeaniejean/more-precious-than-jewels

Its awesome! It doesn't have to be made within the past 2 weeks. But I do give 2 weeks incase people do want to make something new or are in the process of making something. Also a blanket takes a lot of time to make. Definitely more than just the 2 weeks given ;)

It's so nice of you to organise this, @foxyspirit ! I'm looking forward to seeing the entries :D

So am I! 2 weeks is almost to long to wait but I have to give people the time to make something and write about it :p

Your cap is lovely and will brighten up the day (it is very gloomy outside where I live)
I resteemed your contest and I am curious for the entries. Thank you for organizing <3

Thank you for resteeming and your kind compliment :D

That’s some pretty fancy crochet work you have going on over there @foxyspirit. How long does something like that take you? Very cute.

Thank you my friend!

The hat itself can be done in a day. The whole thing. But I tend to not be able to finish it in a day with being a mom and all. The hat I would say for a child, maybe an hour? I never timed myself. I say an hour because sometimes I have to adjust it to make sure it fits right, having to add or remove extra stitches.

the details are fast to work up but the sewing part is the longest, making sure that they are lined up right, equal and such.

You should check in a few days from now, we get some pretty awesomely talented crocheters! They far surpass me when it comes to fancy.

An hour? That’s pretty bad ass.

I love to crochet too. thanks thanks. welcome.

Will you be sending in a post? There are 2 days left ^_^

I'm just here to see some cool stuff, I'm so bad at these handiwork!

And cool stuff you shall see! When I did these contests before, there were amazing entries, beautiful items made. It was lovely and fantastic to what people come up with! Crochet is definitely not just your grandma's hobby :p

Can't wait to see them!

ooooo yey! Now I have the perfect excuse to go buy some more wool! :D I love to crochet!
BB <3
#steemitbloggers

Sweet! I hope you join, would love to see your work here. :D

Hey there just a friendly reminder that there are 2 more days before the contest is over. If you would like to take part, now is the perfect time to show something new or even something old ;)

oh my goodness! I am so sorry I missed this! It has been crazy here, the house is literally upside down with all the building work happening! I haven't been able to get anything done at all! I can't wait for it to be over so I can get out those crochet hooks :)

Ah it was like that all weekend for me as well and I am still trying to catch up. I have 2 posts to write tonight along with a few supports and well my ... well...my .. lady problems are painfully kicking in big time. I'm rolling my eyes right now at the nature us women have....

jejej, good that you like me, a warm greeting in this Christmas, from Venezuela.

Hi @foxyspirit - can @needleworkmonday people take part?

Absolutely! Everyone is welcome ^_^

Can you include the tag? then everyone will see it

Sure did! And with an update added ^_^

that's great ... and 5 steem too!

Now you're in #needleworkmonday, if you would like to take part in the @treeplanter voting circle, please visit this post :)

I will check it out in a few, thank s :)

Congratulations @foxyspirit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 17000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 18000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @foxyspirit!! Yay! Welcome back!!! I have missed this contest :)

Thank you ^_^ I hope you are participating you and a few othere's were my regular contestants :)

Happy Thanksgiving @foxyspirit!! Thank you for bringing us the contest. I will definitely be participating :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Happy Thanksgiving to you my friend! Can't wait to see what you will bring to show :p

Friendly reminder @marblely that there are 2 days left to get something in for the contest. xx

Hehe yes yes!! Tomorrow it will come :)

My roommate does crochet so I shared this with him and reblogged it to hopefully spread the word. Nice to see some more people doing crochet around here :D

Thank you for doing that! And actually it's nice to know that a man crochets. We need to know more about them <3

He hasn't been active on steemit in a while but you can check him out @bluebeaniejean if you like. He's really cool though, one of my stream hats (actually a bandana type thing) was done by him, along with a few dragon-related things like dragon eggs and pouches and several blankets. Takes him forever, but he's really good at it :)

Cool, I will definitely check him out.