How an umbrella made a situation awkward

in #umbrella7 years ago

Once in a blue moon, will have breakfast with my partner's parents and the morning turned out to be quite of an awkward cos of an umbrella. Recently heard from my partner that his mother's knee was kinda in pain cos of an old ailment? How unobservant was i when i only later realise why did his mother carry an umbrella on a bright sunny day?

All these realisation slowly dawned on me after the awkward situation. The situation is simply just the umbrella dropping on the floor when we were having breakfast. And since i was sitting opposite my partner's mother, i should have not hesitated but quickly picked up the umbrella for her right. But i did not! I hesitated for awhile since i thought to myself well she could pick it up since kinda near to her? (Evil me). As it turns out, she picked up the umbrella for herself while i sat there motionless. I guess my partner's mother impression of me should drop quite alot since im not very close to his parents to start with in the beginning.

It was only later then i felt guilty and my partner softly said in my ears why did you not pick up the umbrella for my mother. And all the guilt starts flooding in omg. Right now, im still thinking about the umbrella. Somebody help me! It is only after the breakfast then i realise my partner's mother brought an umbrella with her cos of her knee pain and she needed support with the umbrella to walk with. How unthoughtful of me. Sighs.

Sort:  

Thanks for your feedback but i don't really know how to upload pics. Any advice?