Rabbit and the moon - Level Design - Small preview

in #unity7 years ago (edited)

So you may have heard me post I'm getting lots done on my very first game now which is close to release, you hear that constantly from games developers don't you? Close to release, release date soon and so on, well that's because even when things seem to go really well you've still got to slug through a lot of work to get it absolutely completed and just the way you want and even then it may not be quite right.

Well I'm going through all the level design which is the biggest task I have, still need to get some polished animations going but I have a shiny main menu up with some stars that you can click on and they light up and I'm also getting some proper custom buttons working so my save menu in particular doesn't look quite so basic.

Overall though I think things are going very well, I was worried the game would be boring because it was just a tutorial project I went through to learn how the engine worked but actually it's not too shabby considering. The main thing is and I should have remembered this immediately as a gamer is you just need to make it more challenging, this is one of the slightly later levels in the game I'm showing you and as you can see there's a hell of a lot more going on whereas with the first few levels it's quite simple.

I even have a plan of implementing some wind physics perhaps and things like that to try and knock the player off when they're unwary, you'll notice that compared to other levels the snow has changed direction and is a bit more blustery compared to the other snow effects I've shown. I just need to put in the actual game mechanics now to make things more interesting, I may do it a bit like the legend of zelda if you guys remember snowhead temple in major's mask I may actually create a wind effect like that and have it try to blow you off at random places.