Rabbit and the moon - Small progress update

in #unity7 years ago (edited)


You may have noticed that I haven't been posting much lately, it's because I've been working away on my main project Rabbit and the moon again. I was lucky enough to come across a youtube tutorial on how to put together a leaderboard and it was one of those classic things where because I simply entered the right keywords and used the right vocabulary I found something pretty up to date code wise.

Implementing it was surprisingly simple and I didn't even have to do any alterations to any of my other code as it just used what's called playerprefs which simply automatically saves things like scores and so on in your game. Since it wasn't complicated and I was only looking to save text and numbers as opposed to my other much more complicated saving and loading in the game that meant I got everything done quickly.

To get this working you just need a decent knowledge of C# but once you get used to it it's very easy to fiddle around with. I even fixed up the formatting compared to the guy who wrote the tutorial just be putting a space in the code that adds the name so everything looked a lot neater.

So now here's a small list of what I need to finish in order to get this game released, it is thankfully shrinking day by day because I got the most complicated stuff like the saving and loading of gameobjects out of the way early.

. Re-write my trap code so that the game can save my trap positions without any trouble when the player loads up

. Test out my patching asset I bought and get it up and running for any post-release content or fixes, this will mean that I have an infrastructure for my game that doesn't rely on steam though I will try and get on there regardless, I'm just preparing in case I don't get enough votes to be greenlit

. Tidy up the UI buttons and make them look way more professional

. Make sure the animations look much nicer especially for the rabbit

. Animate my ending cinematic to give the game a little bit of story