Not dead!

in #update3 years ago

U no dead?

So... Long time no see, right?

I've been off HIVE (it was "steemit" last time I used it) for around 3 years. There are many reasons for that, and I'm gonna be absolutely honest about them:

  1. I wasn't too happy on the direction STEEM was taking. It seemed stupid that I needed to pump posts and use all kinds of automated tools to get some value on my posts.
  2. I remember seeing STEEM plummeting and thinking "nah it will go back up!". Didn't happen, and I thought I was probably putting a lot of effort on my posts for the income and audience.
  3. I didn't feel I was writing a true blog. The experience made me cook some new stuff, write some new stuff, build new stuff. But I felt I was writing a book, not a blog!
  4. I decided to learn more about STEEM and programming in general. Well, the world turned a lot of times since then, so now I'm a software developer!
  5. Because of that, I learned about EOS and I was pretty hyped with it. EOS was, and still is, a magnificent blockchain. I felt that if some good social network was built into EOS, there's no way STEEM or HIVE would compete. Voice was a great project but it was maybe too ambitious...

Of course, my own personal life flourished as well in the meantime, but that's out of the scope of this blog post.

Now... Why whould I want to get back? Well... There are also some reasons for that, but I'll leave it for another post!

I can't leave without some photo or something. My last post was about my bio garden... Which eventually became abandoned. Just like this dog that befriended me on the street a few days after I left STEEM. He was clearly abandoned and suffering so we gave him a nice shower, food, and took it to the vet. The vet said "I can keep him for 24h max". A family member decided to help and shelter the dog while we tried to find a new owner... But the dog was so scared that he managed to escape the house. We never saw him again. A sad story, but if it was today, I'd 200% kept the dog no matter the effort.