How on Earth do the upvotes work?

in #upvotes4 years ago

As usual I had a very interesting conversation with @frankbacon where I finally had a lightbulb moment about how @hiveblog @hive upvotes work. Now granted I have so much to learn about how it all works but here is my take on upvotes.

It’s not necessarily the number of upvotes a post gets its the Hive Power behind each vote that counts. So basically, if you have content that a person with a lot of power upvotes this is where the upvote money can be substantial in a sense. So what does that mean? You could have 100’s of upvotes from people with little power which will not necessarily equate to much but you could have one person who has a lot of power and their one vote may make more than the 100’s of upvotes.

It is also my understanding that there is a lot more behind this to do with timing of votes but I am yet to master that. What I can say is the more I use Hive the more I love it.

Also no matter what, I appreciate all the upvotes no matter how big or small their power :)

Sort:  

I made a recent post about this @darkflame

It was a good one...

BaconSide.jpg

HIVE.D!

It’s not necessarily the number of upvotes a post gets its the Hive Power behind each vote that counts. So basically, if you have content that a person with a lot of power upvotes this is where the upvote money can be substantial in a sense.

YOU GET IT!

I run a lil' covfeefe shop with Mine.

Thanks Frank, I was hoping you would say that.

Same business tricks will work on forked blockchains.

steemit-decentralized-social-network-2.png