WARNING! All eBay / USPS / Amazon Users: Postal Rates Just Skyrocketed

in #usps5 years ago (edited)

Just saw some fine print appear today on my eBay Seller Dashboard as I processed my 5 small sales this weekend. WoW.
price.jpg
courtesy: http://cnycentral.com

It's not bad enough according to eBay 29.5% of last week's sales went to fees & shipping, whelp folks - it just got a WHOLE lot worse.

First off, I stopped sending things via Priority (states 2-Day or 3-Day) Mail because it never gets there in 2 or 3 (or 4 or even 5 days) anymore. If you ask them at the post office all they say is,
"Yeah well that's ~suggested~ not actual or any guaranteed time to deliver..."

Whahahahahahat?!?!?!?! Then When am I paying $5+ extra bux per package when I can ship it (faster in many cases) by First class mail?! So anyway, I did just that with last weekends' sales, sending most out in the small 8" x 5" bubble envelopes you get at the Dollar Store. Postage was $2.79 across the board anywhere in the U.S. - whelp, NOT ANYMORE. The four packages I printed labels four tonight were all nearly DOUBLE in price.

Here is the fine print 'Public Service Announcement' (?)
I referenced earlier on eBay.....
============================
Shipping Rates Are Up Across Carriers
============================
UPS®, FedEx®, and USPS® announced their 2019 rate increases and the additional costs will affect your eBay business.

UPS rate changes went into effect December 26, 2018. They have increased an average of 4.9% across most services.

FedEx Express and FedEx Ground parcel movements increased by approximately 4.9% January 7, 2019.

USPS will be making the following changes January 27.

USPS First Class packages are increasing an average of 11.9%*

Note that USPS First Class Package Service pricing will change from a flat rate per ounce to zone-based pricing per ounce.

USPS Priority Mail increases an average of 5.9%*.
Changes in weight distribution of packages will affect pricing on USPS packages starting in June.
================================================

Not sure if any of you are getting an 11.9% pay raise this year, I still haven't even been able to find a job in 2019 that pays a living wage....there is also a gov. battle / demand to extract (extort) double tax from every online purchase (or barter?) - you can LQQK fwd to that one coming down the pike soon too.

Your upvote and/or re-steem of support is greatly appreciated as well as any thoughts, suggestions or propesed solutions. Perhaps I will start my own Pony Express . . . . giddy up . . . .

Sort:  

Pee.S. eBay strangely removed its "PSA" above less than 24 hours after posting, so I was sure glad I saved it here for all to see. It is especially shameful how far downhill the USPS has gone. I applied to help and the very next day was shot down - ridiculous despair!

Ahah thank you!😁

Posted using Partiko Android