You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Adventurer Simulator - Prototype UI-Based Incremental Android App

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Hi @jaegar, I wondering something since you mentioned you moved this project from an old repository to this one. Some of your commits are made only a few minutes apart, but contain more code than I could have personally coded in the same time frame. Could you clarify this for me?

Sort:  

I hand moved the code in from a previous GitHub and tried to recreate the commit history from the old project. I normally wouldn't do this, but I was playing around with react-native and finding the best installation and a good way I wanted to test development. While I was caught up switching environments a few times back and forth, I lost repos and commit logs for early work.

React offers react-native and create-react-native-app as two separate environments for compiling and testing, and it took some snaking around some limitations to get the right one to work. I'm going with react-native, so I don't need to port-forward, but create-react-native-app allows the use of Expo for realtime code updating, something I wish I could've used. I can't get access to the router where I live so I had to avoid that...