Suggestion: Customizeable news feed!

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

I'm constantly finding myself bouncing between certain tags and I began to think, why can't I create a custom tag feed so I can see posts from all the tags I usually browse in one single feed?

So, I'd like to propose a suggestion to the Busy development team to add a feature that will allow us to do this. I wouldn't imagine it would be too hard using JS to complete this feature.

What I'm proposing exactly is adding a new link on the left sidebar. This link would be something like 'Custom Feed' or 'My Tag Feed' or anything along those lines.
image.png

Then incorporate some way for users to select their favorite/frequented tags to be displayed in one single feed. This will save tons of time when browsing new content. An ecample of that is my ugly image below. You can show what tags are currently being displayed and have an add/edit button to manage those tags.

Also, keeping the 'Trending', 'New', 'Hot' dropdown in this feature would of course be a necessity.
image.png

Sorry for the crude and ugly MS Paint graphics. But, it is the quickest and easiest way to convey my idea. If this feature were to be implemented in some fashion it would greatly improve users ability to discover new content, make more comments, and save a lot of wasted time on browsing multiple tags/categories.

If anyone else thinks this feature is a good idea and that it would benefit them as well, please say so in the comments. The more exposure and support this post gets, the more likely it is to be implemented I would assume.



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Your contribution cannot be approved yet, because it has irrelevant tags. See the Utopian Rules. Please edit your post and remove development and programming and use more relevant tags at this link, as shown below:

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

fixed!

Approved.,

Hey @bitboss I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you at 3% Power!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Suggestions

  • Work on your followers to increase the votes/rewards. I follow what humans do and my vote is mainly based on that. Good luck!
  • Contribute more often to get higher and higher rewards. I wish to see you often!
  • I introduced a competition factor. My vote is based also on how competitive the category used is.

Human Curation

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

I have created a tool to filter the posts with many options. It is called Custom Feed, details here:

https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@jga/introducing-custom-feed-filter-the-authors-and-posts-that-you-want-to-read