Sort:  

We are all in love with Utopian and what it stands for so even though most of us put most of our free time into this, we all know this is time well spent!

And I would be lying if I said we don't get anything back. Just for clarity I want to state that the team memebers are weekly rewarded with an upvote proportional to the amount of work they've put in. We are actively trying to root out people that are in here for the (admittedly, quite a small amount for the work they put in) money, though! This is all but necessary to get a team that is very active and committed to the project.

And just to go back to my statement - steem is decentralized, so I'm not really criticizing the system for lack of supervision. It is just an issue that we, luckily, won't have to deal with even though steem does.