Your Local Weather; an application that provides you with your local weather and more.

in #utopian-io5 years ago (edited)

Repository

https://github.com/thuryn/your-local-weather


Introduction

Accurate weather predictions are absolutely important for planning our daily activities. Considering this, an open-source mobile application has been developed for the planing of our daily/future activities. Let me Introduce 'Your Local Weather' app to you.


What is Your Local Weather?

image
source

Your local weather is a free and open source mobile application which provides users with current and predicted weather information. The application's first version (v1.0) was launched on Jan 6th 2018. Counting from Jan 6th 2018 to 29th March 2019 (27 days ago), there have been 124 releases of the application. The latest version (v4.7.3) was released on 29th March 2019 (27 days ago). The new release was about the redesigned weather forecast page. The application weighs only 9.7MB and supports devices with Android version 4.0+
You can download the latest version of the app either on Google Play or on F-Droid


How I got to know of Your Local Weather app

Logos attracts me a lot. I was strongly attracted by the logo of Your Local Weather app which is a location symbol that has the image of the sun and cloud in it. It was quite beautiful and I was eager to know the application that had such a beautiful logo. After going to the app's page on F-Droid, I did a little reading (to be aware of the app's requirements) and proceeded by hitting the download button. After downloading the app, I installed it and launched it as soon as I could.


Features of Your Local Weather app

  • Current weather: Immediately I launched the app, this was the first feature I saw. The current weather feature displays the weather of your location listing out the temperature, wind speed, humidity, pressure and cloudiness of your location. What surprised me was that the app also tells you when sunrise and sunset will be. With this feature, I can now easily plan my day; now I know that sunset would be by 6:33pm, I'll make sure that those things which needs to be done before it gets dark are done before 6:30pm (e.g; going home). I automatically added my location by clicking on the location icon at the top of the current weather screen. It isn't compulsory for me to automatically add my location because I can manually select my location on a provided map. Since that is possible, I added the weather of another country (where one of my family members is) so I can tell what the weather for them is like. Now I've added a total of two countries, all I have to do is to click the '>' character at the top right corner of the screen for me to change to either of the two locations. image

  • Daily Forecast: For the daily forecast feature, the predicted weather of 5 days ahead of the day are displayed. I clicked on the daily forecast feature and I saw a detailed forecast of 5 days ahead of today. In each day, there are eight hours with a gap of 3 hours each. The temperature, wind speed, wind direction and humidity of each of the listed hours are also displayed (I can still add more weather conditions like rain, snow and pressure). I remember days when I leave the house to an important place and get soaked on the way just because I never knew it was going to rain. I also remember days when I spread my clothes on a line and they end up getting soacked still because I never knew it was going to rain. Gone are those days when I used the 'had I known' sentence. With this feature, I now know when to spread my clothes and when to take an umbrella with me. I also know how I can plan the whole day so it won't be ruined. image

  • Graphs: Your local weather app has a graph that displays the predicted rise and fall of the temperature, wind speed, rain, snow and pressure. It also has a combined graph which can be a combination of two or more weather conditions. The graph feature has a refresh icon which is used to update the predictions on the graph. There is also an option to set up the graph to a preferred way. The graph feature is quite interesting as it is more like an 'action speaks louder than words' feature to me. Whenever I go to the graph and refresh it for an updated prediction, I can see the exact way in which the weather conditions will rise and fall. image

  • Settings: On the settings feature, I can do the following: Select temperature unit, Select the wind speed unit, Select the unit for pressure, Hide weather description, Select preferred language (up to 34 languages are available), Select preferred theme, Select preferred icon type, Select how to be notified about weather updates, Select update period for my locations, Select location and address source, Select wake up strategy, Choose to switch GPS on when necessary, Select my preferred widget, Finally, I can enable debugging into log file (in case there's some trouble with the application). image.

  • Share weather: I can't really remember seeing a feature that can share my weather on the other weather applications. Most applications that would offer this feature may add their watermark/trademark to it, but that isn't the same for Your local weather app. This app allowed me (and still allows me) to share my weather without any watermark/trademark. When I clicked on the share button, I was opportune to share my weather with up to 25 of my applications (including my social media applications). image

How to get started with Your Local Weather app

  • Download and install the latest version of Your Local Weather app.
  • Launch the application
  • Give the app permission to turn on your location (if you want to automatically add your location)
  • Enjoy all the features! 😉

Conclusion

This app is good for everyone on earth because we all need to be able to tell what our weather is like. I don't think that there's anyone who would love a ruined day. Considering that, I recommend this app for everyone.


Similar FOSS Project


My Github

Chrisbarth01


Sort:  

Hi, and thank you for your contribution. I observe you used from my recommendations in this blog post; it is good, and I appreciate it. The local weather app seems like another good app, with basic features.

The post is quite extensive compared to the last one I reviewed, and also a bit editorial. I can see some improvement here, but the presentation could be better. There are grammar mistake/omissions in the post. Also, it is unnecessary to list every settings option in the post. Plus, when reviewing a basic app like this, it is nice to compare it to other similar popular apps.

Thank you!

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for your review, @tykee! Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Congratulations @chrisbarth! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 250

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hi @chrisbarth!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @chrisbarth!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!