Nth Society Proposal

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Details

nth-mock-up2.jpg

nth-mock-up.jpg
Image Source

This is my proposal for the Nth Society logo task from @personz in Utopian.io.

Idea

I followed the guidelines with the superscript th and I tried to stick to the square format as much as possible. The visual system has two components:

  • logo with complete name
  • Icon, a synthesized, memorable symbol that can be used separately when the name gains enough recognition

Design Criteria

For this logo I wanted to evoke:

  • Highly Legible
  • Young &
  • Fresh

I decided to use a sharp geometric sans serif font instead of the more classic serif types.

logo-screen-shot1.jpg

Playing with type

I did an exploration of the composition of the Nth until I found certain balance.

process.png

I added some elements to help with the square proportion. The thick lines give the sense of blocks that signify balance, stability, and construction, which relates to the idea behind the game:

"building your own life in the material and social sense".
@personz

Logo refinement

For the logo construction I took into account the optical balance of the horizontal bars, making the top one (under the th) a bit thinner, this way, both appear to have the same thickness.

The logo construction is defined around an element "x" that helps to balance the spacing of elements.

grid-logo-screen-shot3.jpg

logo-construction.png

Color Selection

I explored bright, saturated colors that felt young and fresh and decided the bright green next to the black and white made a strong statement for a game brand.

color-exploration.png

My final selection was the logo with the green bar because I felt the green made the whole logo feel lighter and dynamis.

I also felt the colored bar provided a connection between the logo and the simplified symbol that would become the icon.

nth-final.png

Icon version

The icon is ideal to be used as a favicon and app icon either green or white.

favicon-icon.png

nth-society-logo_icon.png

Technical Specs: Color and font

The image below is self-explanatory, but I chose a classic sans serif type: Futura in it's Medium weight. Futura is characterized by its sharp angles in the N, M and A. This quality fit perfectly for the creation of the icon.

logo-specs.png

At this point my process looked like this:

grid-logo-screen-shot6.jpg

Maybe a bit closer

grid-logo-screen-shot5.jpg

The final step was to create a mock-up in a photo editor to show how the visual system could be applied in different materials and objects, shown at the beginning of the post.

I thought this was an interesting challenge and had a lot of fun with it. Thank you @personz for this opportunity. I am thinking of adding this project to my portfolio and might continue making more use cases for it.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Benefits / Improvements

Having a visual identity is always an improvement for any team or company because it is like having a face to show to the public and represent the product "game" and the team; and is essential to build a following.

Having two elements composing a visual identity provides a flexible system; it lets the company decide which of the elements will be used for each surface, material and object to get the best results, plus, it gives the sense of a more flexible and forward thinking team behind it.

Tools

I created the logo using Adobe Illustrator and the Mock-up image with Adobe Photoshop.

Original files

Files are up for grabs here and all formats are scalable as vectors (.ai, .eps)

The folder contains:

  • Logo 1000x1000px (Positive, Negative, Positive with Color and Negative with Color variations)
  • Icon (Green and White variation) in all formats ranging from Google Play Store size: 512x512px, to the small Favicon at 16x16px &
  • A Pdf with the process, logo variations, icon variations and construction grid

Feel free to use as you wish!

I hope you guys enjoyed seeing the process of this logo design. Maybe this was a bit formal and technical, but that is kinda my mindset when I work on these types of projects.

If you have any questions let me know in the comments. I usually read and reply to all of them. Thank you for your time and for coming by to visit.



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Hey @creativista I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • You are generating more rewards than average for this category. Super!;)
  • This is your first accepted contribution here in Utopian. Welcome!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Creativista from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

That's a very good post. I really like to read it. Lots of knowledge contained therein. Thank you for giving me a very valuable lesson.

When you copy/paste or repeatedly type the same comments you could be mistaken for a bot.

Tips to avoid being flagged

Thank You! ⚜

Thanks for your comment @faisalrizal2018, I'm glad you found some vaue in this post and if you have any questions I'll be more than happy to answer ;)

Yo this shit is mad clean.

:) best comment ever @charitybot

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

You should sell your SBD for Steem and Power up ;)

Thanks for the approval and the tip on steem power @andrejcibik. How much do you recommend I sell? I'm a real newbie about ll all that. I'll change the repository, thanks for the heads up. I tried to pute thrize, but it wouldn't work, I'll try again ;)

Uh, you might want to check the price of SBD right now if you haven't.

Yes, it's almost 1 to 1 sbd to sp, so I've read that you need to have at least 500 sp to make a difference...so, I'm not so sure about buying sp at this point, it's all. Thanks for the help @charitybot

Oh, I was just saying that SBD finally skyrocketed in price again. Looking at the rate of decay in price over time personally I've just sold sbd, obtained enough SP delegation to get me to 500, and waiting on sidelines. But who knows, maybe what I sold the SBD for turns out to be worthless, lol.

I'm sure it will be worthwhile @charitybot. SP is a great resource here, I just don't have enough SBD yet. Good luck with your boosted SP!

please change the repository to /thrize/nth-society

I tried to edit the repository @andrejcibik, but It's not possible, it's been disabled. Let me know if there is anything else I can do.