eSteem Android release preview

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

meet_the_android2.png

There will be some bug fixes eSteem release for Android soon. If you still don't know this is mobile client for Steem blockchain. You can use it to get comments notifications, write posts and comment others, browse your feed, make transfers and everything else same as on Steemit.com but somtimes more handy right in your mobile phone.

Existing graphics for eSteem Android Releases

There is a preview image for new release announcements usually posted by @esteemapp. It looks simple though it can be improved a lot. But since I am more illustrator rather than graphic designer I prefer to draw and this is the main benefit here in my contribution.

android_orig.png

Process

This is a tradition already to show the process. I like to see and overview steps moving work forward and I hope you will find it interesting too. First I've done black and white simple silouettes sketch with hard artistic brush and then drawn more refined coloured shapes, locked the transparency of each layer and added some details.

meet_the_android_sketches.png

Proof of Work

I guess process screens was enough to prove my ownership for this work but in case it's not here is the screen with source file. As you can see I was working in Adobe Photoshop. Draw this on my Surface Pro 2017 with Stylus right on the screen.

proof.png

Original Files

Source file in .PSD format uploaded here.

What do you think?


Welcome to my other accounts:



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

So cute. :D
@resteem.bot

Thanks! I didn't knew bots can leave nice cooments :)

Thank you for this interesting and informative post, @dunsky

Thanks!

Hello, Fil. Nice to reed you again :) This time I can't nitpick anything from your new illustration. It looks complete and on point. It`s only my opinion, but I don't think you should add something to it or change. It is simple, not cluttered, you can read it from any distance and it is easy to understand. Also like your take on Android symbol: looks funny and adorable :)

Hi :) Thanks a lot for your comment! Yeah, it's quite simple with a little metaphor here. Since image will be not too large I've done it that way.

It was very nice when I started using esteem until it came to a point when you try to insert picture it takes you back to home screen and you lost everything that u wrote at the posting side. Buh I think this redesigning have bring a change to it.

Yeah, bug :) It's good to report any bugs to the developer (all the contacts inside an app).

looks nice :)

Thanks! :)

Thanks for the info and heads up, im operating on my adroid with the app fine...if the fix the tweeks Im on it

Thank you :) Yes, me too more on Android now rather than iOS and hope to see the fixes...

It will be very handy STEEMING to android users.

Congratulations!

It is already handy :) this application exists for a long time :)

wo wooo wo ! so incredible design you have made.. you use illustrator right? @dunsky I really appreciate your art in illustrator .I also use This beast .. #rock illustrator. But you have much better ideas about it.. #stay blessed.

Thank you :) no, as I mentioned in the post, I've don't this in Adobe Photoshop. But my prophecy is called illustrator because I create drawings which are usually illustrate something. Like here we need to show new version release. You may say Meet the new Android version so we are illustrating a meeting. And as you can see Android is running away from bugs because this is mainly bug fix release. That's why it's called illustration.

Ummm quite interesting work.. Good luck @dunsky ..

Esteem app so much to be desired my app just stopped working. So much bugs hopefully this new release will be better. Great article budd

Unfortunately same for me. I got only notifications. Other stuff is not working. All the servers in settings are offline...

Update: try to change the server to https://api.steemit.com. It will show red cross like it is offline but it will work.

Very fun work! I am traditional artist and would like to learn to draw in Photoshop. Could you point me out toward nice Photoshop tutorials? I am planing to buy tablet and pen next month and already have Adobe Photoshop.I beleave that traditionlal art will become vinyl records in 10-20 years :)

Thank you so much! Well, when I was studying in the university color science classes and asked our teacher can I do all the homework on computer she told me I will not succeed because computers are limited in abilites etc. But once I've done she was amazed and accepted the work. It was more than 16 years ago... That time I thought traditional art is already becoming rare antique.

But more I am working in digital more I would like to get back to traditional actually. Trying to find some ways to fake it in digital and make it look more real with textures and different brushes imitating materials...

For the tutorials I don't know. It depends on what do you want to draw. I would suggest you to find a digital artist which you will like a lot and try to copy the style of work asking him personally for the process. The basics are all around the net here. Like what is layers, how to draw in photoshop etc.

Thank you for your reply. One more question :) What tablet and what size will be better investment for beginner? I looked at Amazon and got lost in choices :)

It doesn't really matter. Small size will be enough I am sure. I was working with A4 size tablet for 5 years and then switched to A5 without feeling any difference. But it may depend on your style of drawing... What is your budget? I would suggest you buy iPad Pro with Apple Pencil. It will be really good investment and it feels like real drawing with Procreate application it will imitate all the popular materials pretty well.

my overall budget will be in 100-400 range .

Then I think it's okay to start with Wacom Intuos Draw. It's around $80-90 and everything you need will be there except the display :) this is a surface where you put your hand with sylus down looking in front of you at the monitor of your computer :)

thank you.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @dunsky to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Oh my.. that app will be so addictive... 😆
I love the expression of the whale btw!

Today new version was released for iOS and there my illustrations for NSFW and No image cases already implemented. It's so fun to see my friends feed now... Like I am browsing myself 😂

Haha, makes me wonder about those friends 😅

Ahaha! No no, I saw only no image yet 😂😂😂😂😂😂

Esteem on my iphone is not working for me I dont know why

Now working, must have been the network

Try to change the server in settings to https://api.steemit.com. It will show red cross like it is offline but it will work.

is this the latest update for android
@dunsky

It's on 1.5.0 and will be fixed at 1.5.1 soon.

Okay, thanks

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Cool, thanks a lot, Andrej!

Hey @dunsky I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • WOW WOW WOW People loved what you did here. GREAT JOB!
  • You are generating more rewards than average for this category. Super!;)
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

I have just followed you. Kindly pls follow back. Thanks for this great article.

Hmmmmmm..... You re fucking great

introduce my name @saifulabubakar, i come from indonesia aceh province, i am newcomer in steemit world, i have not much to know about steemit and how to get abundant vote .......
I want to be like you, lots of friends and money ,,,
thank you

nice post

What a nice comment!

nice work

@dunsky, weldone job. great research work. keep it up. nice and useful info.