You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Particle physics @ Utopian - Implementing an LHC analysis on a computer: the physics objects

in #utopian-io6 years ago

I can't help but feel that 'unis' is a bit of a Freudian slip.

Although it's not dimensionless, my favorite is how we civil engineers often refer to pressure in units of 'head'. Literally, the height of a water column per unit area. (Analogous in concept to mm Hg) A very handy unit when you're concerned with lifting fluids/making sure they flow well after friction losses.

Sort:  

The typo is fixed :D

What is the atmospheric pressure in terms of heads? 10 or something?

I actually do not know off the top of my head. We often work in 'gauge pressure', setting 1 atm as the 0 point. The trivial answer I guess, is 0. Looking up the answer, it's a little over 10 1/3 m.

that is a big head :D

In hindsight, I should've known this both because it's the same as the limit for sucking water up a tube in a vacuum (at 1 atm) and the rule of thumb that pressure increases by 1 atm every 10 m.

This is why I actually suggested 10 in the very beginning. This being said, the next episode is finally out :D