Utopian: I have Just Left a 13K/Month Job For Making This Real.

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

You know guys I am a dreamer. I had so many projects in my mind and never really had the courage to push one the hard way. That's not the case with Utopian.io. I really believe in this project and I met so many people excited about this during the SteemFest and outside that I finally decided to make the big step.

I am a freelancer and I have been working in Germany for almost one year now for one of the biggest energy companies being paid up to 13K a month.

I have just sent the company my final notice and left the job.

U5dsNZF2ko4b6ohe517Xy3nwSEj8ndP_1680x8400.png

Why?

Utopian.io is eating all my time, I get so many messages, so many things to do, so many ideas that I am overwhelmed by all of this and so excited.

Utopian.io is just a proof of concept and it is not going to become a fully functional product without me being on it 100%.

I do really believe in what I am doing and I'll follow this path with all my strength and giving to it my entire time, investments and mental work.

The Vision

Utopian.io is going to be the platform where Open Source projects come to life, where existing ones get promoted and where everyone is rewarded in a real meritocratic way.

Utopian.io wants to change how "get paid for what you do" works in our World and give to everybody the opportunity to get rewarded for the real value they bring.

Utopian.io is a shared economy from which everyone will benefit IMMEDIATELY.

Utopian.io is:

The Only Utopia Made Reality!


It's Already happening

  • @stoodkev is working on a better bot.
  • @Nelsonm will redesign the entire platform to make it valuable for project owners, the hard way.
  • @mkt has almost finished the landing. I requested for some changes.
  • @mkt and @auliausu will work on a weekly newsletter that will show the best projects and the best active contributions. The weekly newsletter will be directly published by the official @utopian-io account.
  • I am working on the chrome extension to bring Utopian into Github and soon delegate that to someone else for refactoring the code and replicating it for Firefox.
  • And we are going to spin-off the platform to serve a wider Open Source audience....stay tuned.

Thanks For The Support

Thanks to all the guys I met at the SteemFest and outside. Thanks to their nice words and their interest into the project, they gave me the push to do the big step. To name some:

@ned
@inquiringtimes => You are so funny man
@lukestokes
@noisy
@jerrybanfield
@kevinwong
@netuoso
@stellabelle
@good-karma
@mkt
@cryptoctopus
@yabapmatt
@nelsonm
@agoric.systems
@ekitcho
@fabien
@transisto
@roxanne
@heimindanger
@prc
@steemdev and @steemidev All the guys of the Steemit team
@lightproject
@espoem
@jefpatat
@arie.steem
@stoodkev
@ruah
@ceepee
and so many others...

NOW LETS ROCK!


A Special Thanks to The Sponsors

https://utopian.io/sponsors

@freedom
@transisto
@xeldal -> Vote for witness
@cryptoctopus
@furion-> Vote for witness
@javybar
@netuoso -> Vote for witness
@jerrybanfield -> Vote for witness
@ajvest
@masterthematrix
@materia
@elear -> me
@yabapmatt-> Vote for witness
@agoric.systems-> Vote for witness
@teamsteem -> Vote for witness
@lexiconical
@masterofcoin
@iliasdiamantis
@cmorton
@johnsmith
@dragosroua
@unosuke
@gokulnk
@o1o1o1o
@techslut
@jenkinrocket
@steemj
@ivysrono
@nesian101
@shreyasgune
@julstamban
@lykkejay
@sircork-> Vote for witness
@rival -> Vote for witness
@kemal13
@hadimemories
@soushi888
@fakire1sadaka
@dodybireuen
@sonnyboy
@alexsm
@allowisticartist
@doodlebear
@lusanamaya
@callmetoxy
@rizal.konoha2
@tanvirrahman

A Special Thanks to The Moderators

https://utopian.io/moderators

@elear
@espoem
@jefpatat
@arie.steem
@stoodkev
@ruah


Who am I?

11 years Senior Software Architect - Javascript Full Stack Developer, focused on ES6, React.js, Redux, TypeScript, Node.js, and DevOps.

Follow the official Utopian account: https://steemit.com/@utopian-io
Follow me on Steemit: https://steemit.com/@elear
Follow me on Utopian: http://utopian.io/@elear
Add me on LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/puccidiego/

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

You can add me to the sponsor list!! I just delegated 5000SP. Let's stay in touch. I manage the bitshares-ui repo and am implementing bounties in a manual way at the moment. What I'd really like to do is be able to assign bounties per issue and then pay the bounty automatically once the issue has been accepted and closed with a merge. I'm hoping that you are able to build towards that type of functionality.

Thank you so much @billbutler! You are there already https://utopian.io/sponsors

Am sorry, i just love to snoop around when great minds commune maybe i will get my own silver-lining out of their discuss....thanks for the suppprt for Utopian.io @billtubulter

Hey Bill @billbutler! I am wondering how can I make some spanish translation to the bitshares wallet? I think it is needed to share more Bitshares into the spanish crypto-community. Cheers!

This is fascinating to see a lot of whales pushing this project. It is viable and thanks to steemit making all this possible.
Got to look at this.
Keep on steemit.

You go man. I think that you've had the million dollar idea right there and anyone who hears about it knows that it's brilliant. It all comes down to implementation from here on.

Fortunately, now you have a way to incentivize people to contribute to your project and crowdsource design, marketing budget and everything else you need to make it a reality.

What I'm most excited about will be the possibility to buy your SMT, the utopian token will be the token that powers the open source world! I'll make sure to buy a big load of them when they come out.

Same here! Had the exact same idea, just found out about https://utopian.io/ 10 minutes ago via a friend. This is MEGA!

Thank you @cryptoctopus. You know this would not be here without your early support! THANK YOU

Woah... A Utopian token is on the table?! I'd be all in for that.

what wrong with you..you are very stupid person.. why you downvoted my posts.. what did wrong with you.. where i commented and followed you.. you are very stupid person.. you are scammer.. who given you reputation No. 72.. you not deserver for it.. I will downvoted your all posts.. wait i getting steempower for 8 weeks lets see what happened to you

You're just making all kinds of friends around here aren't you? Did you ever stop and think that maybe the reason people are downvoting your comments and posts is because YOU are the one doing something wrong? You went and picked a fight with me (which you can't win), and now you are at it with another member. My friend, you need to take a step back and take a serious look at your approach here.

They never learn > : )

This guy is totally out of control. He's following myself and other members around and downvoting all of our posts and comments, making snide remarks and hurling insults, etc.

It all stemmed from myself and other members asking him not to go around and spam and beg for votes and follows in all of his comments. Well, when he persisted, the inevitable happened - we downvoted his spam comments.

His main issue (among many), is that he has gotten himself downvoted into oblivion. He now has a rep of "1" and doesn't seem to understand that downvoting members who are almost at "60" and above has virtually no effect. However, on the flip side, when WE downvote him, his posts and comments go POOF and DISAPPEAR!

Hopefully, he understands that we are reasonable people, and if he stops harassing us, he will no longer have to worry about every post and comment he makes being hidden.

If he is reading this comment right now, hopefully he gets the message loud and clear.

Your post is more than inspiring. Thanks!

I am not much of a developper but I am an Entrepreneur and your platform can help us to find:

The Right Person for The Right project at The Right Price

I think what you developped is amazing and is what Blockchain and
Cryptos are all about: CUT THE MIDDLE MAN!

It allows all of us to reach higher and as you know Sky is the Limit!

I don't really know you but I have been following your project and I am sure you are going to suceed!
I can only wish you Good Luck (and give you a friendly Hug :) ).

Take care @elear.

I'm actually seeing more potential in utopian than on steemit! It has a lot of growth potential and definitely catches a big niche!

Congratulations!!! Time and focus are key. I'm sure it feels like a weight has been lifted off your shoulders.

Great job @elear

Cool! Keep up the good work of you!

Thanks for your dedication. :)

Strong and Enormous Decision Man.
Wish you Best of Luck.
These type of contributions are changing the tech.

Congrats to your new dream @elear. I know exactly what you mean. I took a week off to get the translations done to contribute. We will make Utopian work.

Thats it @elear turn the stage upside down.. we will do our best. Start to free that hurricane thats in your hand ..

Well done @elear !
I made a similar move leaving my company for my own personal business.
Utopian is definitely shaping up as a great project, I'm sure it will bring only success to you and hopefully everyone here.

Utopian has to opportunity to turn "game credits" into a "cross-platform exchangeable currency". e.g. "win at chess.com to buy-in at tinder.com and fifa18"

I think you've made the right call. Utopian could be one of the big names within few years.

I wish you and Utopian great success. We probably are witnessing history being made , how exciting is that?! :)

@elear I had the exact same idea as you did! Just found out about you via a friend of mine at steemit.chat. I'll contact you, I want to help

@elear this is terrific concept. didnt knew this till this came up trending. you left your job, wow what a confidence man. Keep going. I'm a C# developer. Will join your brainchild, learn something and be part of your success. Thank you

Looking forward to that @hemanthoj !

This is bigger than EOS and Ethereum combined. It's not about empowering the apps themselves, it's about empowering the users of those apps

So would it be accurate to describe it as a Fiverr with cryptocurrency?

Fortune favors the bold (and the hodl)! Full STEEM ahead!

Now that is one fantastic slogan!

wow sir you make such a hard decision I hope you choose the right one.
and about utopian.io I hope i can contribute one if these days.

@elear all the very best... You are following your passion to the extent of taking risk for that... Good going..

I wish you could climb the peak to replace GitHub!

You can't replace github with utopian.io. Github is a git repository. Utopian.io is not a git repository, as far as I understand.

It's not about replacing GitHub, it's about complementing it with a reward layer on top and tools for project owners to promte their projects and attract contributors. :)

the first thing I thought: he's got guts

a courage and a very good step
I'm sure the future of utopian will add good because you really make a good move there
good job boss @elear :)

**Freedom is never dear at any price. It is the breath of life. What would a man not pay for living? **

- Mahatma Gandhi

so what is the meaning of you want to left the job sir ? do you want to leave the utopian to get developed by the company?
but as long as that is your decision, i think that is the best choice you have decided ^^

great job...^_^

Daring step dear, you and steem team already led the foundation now it's time to complete the building
All the best 👍

great idea be un dreamer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

You seems like very desperate to make this big. Anyway, I wish you have extra cash on hand to survive for few months before you have income from utopian.

YES!!!!!!!!!!!!
I am just a bot, however, I will tell @stellabelle so that she can start working on creating the most kickass GIFs for utopian.io.....as long as you approve, just tell us the word, and we can start working for the good of utopian.io!
I am just a bot, but I have been programmed to feel proud of you for making the right step.....and we will work together until the open source world is finally the dominant fashion of the world!
CONGRATULATIONS....Now can she start making GIFs for utopian.io? Just say the word.....

This is Nuts NUTSSSSS i said

Great story and congratulations ! ! Ever think of learning to trade on the financial markets as a source of income ? http://www.binaryforextrader.com

hi dear steemit iam a new member in steemit i will be happy that you see my blog and share your idea and sujjestion how to inprove my blog
thank for your support

You'll be all the happier for it. For every person who finds a way to flip the bird to the traditional way of 'making a living' (ugh, that term gives me the shivers) is another nail in the coffin of the old way.

Anyway, the project is shaping up to look amazing. Dude, with your resume... how the hell old are you?!

Congratulations and good luck again!

Vai e spacca!!!!!!!!
Salutoni!

awesome job @elear, your passion is inspiring! what you've done with the platform already is amazing, you shall truly take it to greater heights now doing it full time. my support and best wishes always :)

Great to have you 100% onboard :)

Thank you man! Lets chat soon @noisy

Upvoted, followed, and reSteemed!
Congratulations. I'm inspired and excited for you. I can't wait to find out more about Utopian.io .

Congratulations @elear, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 1041 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $5494.27. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

This is a great idea! Top work. Love it.

Weldone @elear

I am really also believing in your dream about Utopian.io and the potential of what this platform would become in time to come.

Owing to that reason since I came across Utopian-io on Steemit, I have been making my contribution towards it's development in the way I can through my area of specialization, Graphics

Take a view at my latest contribution:
https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@ufxpression/utopian-io-graphics-contribution-1-design-for-mobile-ui-id-card-and-t-shirt

I also would be dropping more contributions as I discover areas which haven't been touched.But trust me, I am on the same page with your vision.

congrats on doing this and quitting your 9 to 5 (or sometimes even more) job to do something you are passionate about.

Looks good, will keep an eye on it. Reminds me of how the likes of Signal pays developers to submit pill requests and so on (using Github too). Surprised Github haven't built something like this in to their site yet.

Thank you for taking that leap of faith @elear. Thank you for taking this bold decision.

congratulations man! I hope this becomes the best move you ever made in your career

This is really cool. its exciting to see new ideas coming into the market place as well as ideas that actually are good! Id be more than happy to contribute to something like this. Let me know when it is close to launching! Good Luck!

I will wait for the presence of utopia - io

I respect your decision a lot and I'm with you 100%. I've got a post coming up within the next few hours on Utopian in which I will share my work in regards to the landing page and its content. I really want this project to shine and be its best. ☺

There are 2 pages
Pages