Introduction of Grid view to cryptonews

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Components

The Cryptonews app is an open source android news aggregation application that feeds users with news updates from their top cryptocurrency news blogs.

Proposal

The cryptonews app is surely useful for crypto enthusiasts. People already use it to streamline news they get updated on to only their most trusted news sites however the app view is restricted to a list of the news, this makes navigation quite difficult. I suggest the view is optimized to support both list and grid view so users can switch from one view to another as the navigate their favorite news on the feed.

Mockups / Examples

This an example of how the Switch from list to grid should look like.

Current View in app.

old search.png

Introduction of Switch from list to grid

list.jpg

Grid view sample with option to switch back to former list view depending on user's preference

grid.jpg

Benefits

The benefits of adding this feature;

  • Users are better able to navigate faster around the news feed

  • It also provides an improved user experience



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Thank you for the suggestion. I hope to use a grid view layout, but I am limited by some technical difficulties surrounding the technology stack I used for the application. Xamarin.forms doesn't support RecyclerView by default, as in native android, although I'm trying to get a work around for this.

However, this application is going to be recreated natively for each platform, to leverage more functionalities. Someone has already offered to help with that and work is currently in progress.

@emmexdee, Upvote is the only thing I can support you.

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

I think is a great suggestion you just made. lovely research

Hey @emmexdee I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Suggestions

  • Contribute more often to get higher and higher rewards. I wish to see you often!
  • Work on your followers to increase the votes/rewards. I follow what humans do and my vote is mainly based on that. Good luck!

Get Noticed!

  • Did you know project owners can manually vote with their own voting power or by voting power delegated to their projects? Ask the project owner to review your contributions!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x