Weakening the Spammers on Steemit

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

5448944597_8e70da64ab_o.png

Image source

Hello!

I've just discovered Steemit and I think it's great!

I believe what makes Steemit platform unique and attractive is that the high-quality content created/curated by its users. When I say, "high-quality content" I mean that the content which's free from click baits and scams but has a real value and is created by real people with passion.

What's happening?

New users facing a problem on Steemit. They're not able to make themselves heard without being backed by a community. They're not able to do it because their voice fades into the noise of Upvoters and Resteemers.

I think this's been a critical issue which's been worked on to be solved by some of the most popular platforms such as Medium, Twitter and, Youtube. The users who aren't able to make their stories heard most likely to cooperate with the accounts who offer upvotes and resteems who in turn demand the same. I believe, in the long run, the content is the king. One can consult these superficial ways and may have the 15 minutes of fame but never get to engage with a real community and support.

Two adjustment suggestions to weaken spammers

NEW TAB.jpg

The NEW tab
When I first saw the NEW tab, I thought it was an algorithm that blends, refines and offers the unseen content not only relying on their chronologic order but also taking account of some specific variables. But no, I was wrong. It doesn't work this way.

Suggestion 1: The age of the sender's account can be considered to measure the posts' ability to be shown on top of the NEW page.
For example, if a new post is submitted by Alice whose account is relatively young (such as 1 to 10 days young), then her post is likely to sit on top of the NEW page by pushing Bob's post whose account is older than Alice's (other variables being equal.)

Suggestion 2: The reputation of the sender's account can be considered to influence the posts ability to be shown on the NEW page. For example, Bob has got a bad portfolio of flagged messages, and Alice is the opposite. Let's say they post in the same 5 to 10 seconds period, then at this situation, Alice's post is likely to push Bob's because of her portfolio that's free from being flagged (other variables being equal.)

These are the opinions that I think would help prevent spammers to be seen on the NEW page over and over again.

Please feel free to share your opinion on these suggestions. Thank you!



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Hey @faikizan I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • This is your first accepted contribution here in Utopian. Welcome!

Suggestions

  • Contribute more often to get higher and higher rewards. I wish to see you often!
  • Work on your followers to increase the votes/rewards. I follow what humans do and my vote is mainly based on that. Good luck!

Get Noticed!

  • Did you know project owners can manually vote with their own voting power or by voting power delegated to their projects? Ask the project owner to review your contributions!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Your contribution cannot be approved yet because it is not very informative.Your Contributions need to be informative and descriptive in order to help readers and developers understand them.
you did not provide a lot of explanation and also did not provide information for the purpose and also benefit of your suggestion. Please consider editing your contribution to reapply for approval. Thank you.
You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hi, knowledges!

I'm sorry but I'm not sure I understand you. Would you articulate what do you mean by saying "very informative" and "a lot of explanation." What is your definition of being informative and descriptive? Do you want me to write an academic essay according to the rules of APA style or write down the codes that are needed to implement my suggestion?

Please let me know specifically which part of my post is vague, then I'll try my best to edit it. This is just a humble suggestion from an average internet user, not a piece of writing that you'd encounter in a GitHub project.

Thank you!

When I first saw the NEW button, I thought it was an algorithm that blends

I got really confused by what you meant by New button, i had to think deeply while going through your contribution again and again until i found out you meant New tab, it could have been better understood using New tab. sometimes, using some image to support your suggestion is highly recommended :)
new tab.png
Please kindly correct the following :

  1. Change the text New button, to New tab
  2. Use a descriptive image like the one shown above. You can use the above image if you want to

Once done, kindly reply to this comment. Thank you :)

Okay, it's done!

The correct repository for your contribution is steemit/condenser