You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Seed Game Engine - Multiple Program Support and Text & MapTile Rendering (v1.1.4)

Hi, so honestly I don't do WebGL so I'll review on what I know :)

Let's go for the review:

In overall your code is of great quality. Hats off. The rendering though I'm not a fan ha ha because I'm a console gamer and loving AAA games.

Good luck on your roadmap because you got some heavy features to develop.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Sort:  

Hey @gregory.latinier
Here's a tip for your valuable feedback! @Utopian-io loves and incentivises informative comments.

Contributing on Utopian
Learn how to contribute on our website.

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Thank you for your feedback :) It's great to hear such a positive review.

Thank you for taking the time to break down the PR and suggest improvements.

I purposely use == when comparing null as it also returns true when comparing against undefined as well, which I always handle both the same. Referenced from this Stack Overflow question.
As for the for loops, I haven't seen that practice before for simple incremental loops. I'll take a look at changing them over in the future; but I do enjoy using ++ when appropriate.

I'll watch for cleaning up my code and comment more before finalizing the PR in the future.

The rendering is still very early in development as well, I'd like to later implement 3D, keeping the camera targeted on your selected player. It'll most likely still be short of acceptable for a console gamer however ;)