You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Towards an Utopian contribution to particle physics - the roadmap and how to get started

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Installed and ready to run !

I stumbled upon a few issues which were solved by going in to the root folder and running

cd bin
. thisroot.sh

don't forget the dot before thisisroot.sh

and then go back tot he ma5 folder and run it like indicated :)

You shouldn't have more issues as thisisroot.sh will set all the correct binary paths.

Sort:  

Thanks for specifying this. I forgot to mention it, but this is necessary to tell your environment variable where root is :)

Yeah, so far root has been a bigger issue than ma5 for installing on WSL. More info soon, but for reference, 'source thisroot.sh' was the correct command for me.

If you happen to know the person responsible for naming a package that likes to live in *nix 'root', please do pinch them for me.

I am also sourcing the file here (it is actually embedded within my bashrc ;) )

If you happen to know the person responsible for naming a package that likes to live in *nix 'root', please do pinch them for me.

I don't know him personally. He works at CERN :)