eSteem Surfer - Proofreading the German Translation/Testing

in #utopian-io5 years ago (edited)

source

First and foremost I want to thank @good-karma again for giving us the opportunity to help him with his project. It was a huge pleasure for me to serve with my gained knowledge as a Language Moderator from DaVinci. If you are interested in reading my first post about eSteem Mobile, then click here. I wanted to make this post a little bit different, not only showing my proofreading work but also showing how eSteem Surfer works.

Repository

eSteem Surfer is an open-source program which is performing on the Steem Blockchain. You will find the relevant repositories here:
eSteem Surfer on Github
eSteem Surfer on Crowdin
Crowdin Profile of the responsible Language Manager
Crowdin Profile of the responsible Translator

Project Details

Although there are a lot of different frontends for accessing the Steem Blockchain, there wasn't any real good desktop app before eSteem Surfer came into place. To provide an in-depth analysis of the desktop app, I downloaded it myself, just because I was really curious. At first, it can be complicated to find the correct link to download, ultimately I decided to download the file from the latest version ended with .exe - which turned out to be a good decision. The program was installed really quick and I immediately got access to the blockchain. As with the eSteem Mobile app you can use SteemConnect login too, which I found the be quite handy. At first, the program appeared to me just like a normal browser. Later I found out that it is in many ways different to it. I'll provide you with a screenshot here:

eSteem Surfer

First, it has come to my realization that you can't access normal web pages like Google. Instead, this bar serves as a search bar that sweeps the whole blockchain for the entered term. In this screenshot, for example, I searched for the username @good-karma, ranked it by popularity and a blog post of good-karma presenting its iOS v1.4.5. appeared. A good search function is in my opinion exactly what the Blockchain needs. Overall the eSteem Surfer app runs smoothly, fast and has all features included what you would expect from a decent frontend. But for now, I would like to get back to the proofreading work.

Contribution Specifications

My main job as a Language Moderator is to proofread and approve German translations
from my hard-working translation team. @rivalzzz was responsible for the translation concerned. Although he is fairly new to the team, he demonstrated the necessary skills to translate the application into a simple and easy-to-understand German in the right context. Examining his profile, there are lots of post about eSteem Surfer and its usage. This shows once again, how driven and determined @rivalzzz is with the project and how he was able to provide such a high-quality translation. He has thus made a significant contribution to the community by ensuring that even people who are not proficient in English can enjoy eSteem Surfer.

At the time of proofreading, there were about 1134 words in the whole project, so it took me almost 45 minutes to proofread everything and evaluate the respective contribution. Considering the fact that both @rivalzzz and @louis88 are continuing translating new strings which are coming in on both projects, I'm absolutely convinced that they are more than suitable for the job. I really like to thank them for their contribution to the open source community.

Conclusion

It was a pleasure reviewing the work of @rivalzzz for the eSteem Surfer application, as I think this is a small, but important step out of many towards a successful Steem Blockchain. I really like the way how the community found a lot of bugs and made suggestions with the help of Utopian by @elear to constantly improve the experience within eSteem Surfer. This reflects very well the real power of the open source community.

~infinitelearning, 16.02.19


You can download eSteem Surfer here:

click here

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by infinitelearning from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.