You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Particle physics @ Utopian - Implementing an LHC analysis on a computer: the physics objects

in #utopian-io • 6 years ago

Ok this one is going to take a bit longer. 😀

Might try to read the full paper because it's kind of nice to implement something that‘s not completely alien but I think some of it might go over my head! 😅

Thanks for the clear instructions.

Sort:  

Ok this one is going to take a bit longer. 😀

I also give more time. I am not (too) foolish :)

Might try to read the full paper because it's kind of nice to implement something that‘s not completely alien but I think some of it might go over my head! 😅

In 5-10 posts (I actually don't know the exact number), we will have read together the full paper :)

Thanks for the clear instructions.

I hope they are lear enough so that you could succeed with the exercise :)

I have a question.

Is the overlapping selection process to be applied solely within each individual event (collision), or across events as well?

In other words, do the events in the supplied sample attempt to repeat the same collision several time or do they correspond to different experiments?

If I understand well, the sample that our program will process correspond to simulations that result from the Supersymmetry theory which predicts certain particles to be detected.
These simulations would then be compared to real collisions in LHC.
Is this correct?

Loading...