Art Fantasy Exhibition #2 - @jmvanbreda

in #utopian-io5 years ago (edited)

Jaguar-Sepia-Halbwchsig-Profile-Free-Image-Cat-He-1805.jpg
CC0

Previous Posts in the series:

As a follow up to the post referenced in the first entry of this series, here is the recent SteemCleaners comment in that post:

656g.png

To continue with the series on Art Rephrasing the first thing that occurred to us, was to consider the notion that what was shown in the previous entry was a singular mistake by the steem user, so we went ahead and checked his recent posts to see if we could find more examples of art rephrasing, unfortunately we did.

The piece is titled Eyes Like Wildfires and here is part of the description in the post:

screenshot-steemit.com-2019-02-15-19-29-59.png
Source

Here you can see the piece by the steem user:

eyesfire.jpg
Source

And here you can see the original artwork by Casey Baugh:

eyesoriginal.png
Casey Baugh Charcoals

And here you can see both images side by side:

pjimage(1).jpg

In response to a comment by @enforcer48 in the previous entry, we would like to talk a bit about the methods we use to spot cases like these. They include but are not limited to:

  • Look for red flags in the post as "MY ART" in the title or "It took me 7 hours to make" in the description.
  • Look for artistic dissonances and incongruences in the user's profile.
  • Look for signs of the art being traced as for example the first process pic having the full trace.
  • Receive input from the community in so far as suspicious posts and users.
  • Thematically search for pictures manually, for example "dragon art" in google images.

That being said it is important to note that we cannot disclose all our methods publically because that would allow abusers to circumvent them, but we would be more than happy to discuss our methods in a private context with trusted curators in a confidential manner.

Casey Baugh has been contacted to advise him about the steemit post and we will post the reply in a follow up as soon as we receive it

Onwards,
Jaguar Force

Sort:  

Howdy @jaguar.force,

Glad to see you are now contributing to Utopian Anti-Abuse and to see how your approach has evolved. These art rephrasers can be quite crafty and sly and it's good that you are developing some advanced techniques to combat. I've seen this sort of thing not only on Steem but Minds.com. Thankfully on Steem the community is more averse to that sort of thing. I observed an author on Minds today use art that I was able to easily reverse image search, was about to comment, but noticed someone else did. Long story short, the author used a #myart tag and the person was asking if it was indeed their art pasting a screencap of the reverse image search.

The "artist" claimed that what they did was actually created a repaint of the image but it looked almost identical. For all we know, it could have been a Photoshop filter to make it appear as though they painted it. This was enough to satisfy the inquirer but, now that I think about it, that's suspect. All things considered, I am glad you are setting a precedent that this sort of thing is not to be accepted. If we tolerate it like that user did on Minds, I fear the floodgates will be opened and we will see a lot more art rephrasing which furthermore could open the door for potential legal action. I don't like to think about what that could mean for the blockchain so would prefer that Pandora's box stay closed. Keep it up!

If I may make one recommendation concerning this contribution which had been given to me when I first started:

  • Make use of Hemingway or similar app to help you make more succinct sentences so they are easier on the reader.

I had a bad habit of verbosity when I started so now I try to plug it into Hemingway to show me the sentences that should be adjusted. It is a helpful tool and good step to really polish your post. Our community manager is pretty big about it.

On an unrelated note, think we may want to talk to the SFR admins about adding an "art rephrasing" category of abuse as it is pretty much a category of its own. It does appear to require much more effort that your run-of-the-mill image plagiarism.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for your feedback Anthony, I followed through on your recommendation and already downloaded Hemingway, looks like a great tool I wasnt aware of, will make use of it in future posts. We will keep it up!

Thank you for your review, @anthonyadavisii! Keep up the good work!

Don't be too quick to judge. The terms "crafty"and "sly" should be used accordingly. I have nothing to hide and I can admit when I'm wrong. If I had known that what I was doing was wrong in the first place, you could by all means label me as crafty and sly.

Thank you.

Hi @jmvanbreda.

Sorry for the misunderstanding. I said "can be" for that reason. I do not know the motives of your heart.

If it were a simple and innocent mistake, glad you have learned and became better as a result.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. No harm done.

Hey, @jaguar.force!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

If I posted the original artwork and claimed it as being my own, I would by all means agree with your views. But I won't agree with this as plagiarism since the image was purely used as a model for my own artwork. There are differences between my drawing and the original. Thank you.

Wonderful. Is there any more of your works posted here in steem that are heavily based on another artist's works and for which you haven't mentioned the sources?

To be honest, I don't have the original pics. My last drawing I posted was also based on a graffiti artist's work. I'll try to find the pic again. I can't delete these posts, which is unfortunate. Anyway, you are welcome to dig more if you feel so inclined. You'll probably find more of these posts.

All the best.

Dont worry about not having the pictures, just go ahead, come clean and tell us and the community which ones of your works are based on other artist's works.

I will try my best to dedicate a post to that, but it might take a while. Thank you for your understanding regarding all of this.