You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Utopian Rules Update #7 - Biggest Quality Enforcement Ever

in #utopian-io6 years ago

I would definitely say that those fall into the category of people that I would refer to as "abusers."

But, I note carefully, it's not against the rules to submit low quality content – the rules simply define what will be accepted. The current change in rules doesn't really affect this kind of abuser, except to require that they submit a longer section of Google translated text. Continuing to steal tutorials from other sites (I assume, because stealing from other Utopian users would be hideously obvious – though I suppose I should allow for that possibility, too) and the like will not be affected at all.

And the moderators will still have to comb through it to recognize that there is a problem.

I'm on board with recognizing that the current state of affairs need not be permanent, and allowing for that is good. But I'm not sure that the current solutions really address the problem.

Like I said, it's not my problem to solve – for which I am thankful. But as an interested user of the platform in general, I have some tiny stake in seeing that it's done well and some interest in my own work, which in theory falls within the Balla wick of things that Utopian is traditionally supposed to support, actually being supported by Utopian.

I hope that is a relatively reasonable position to state.