Review of Frost-for-Facebook

in #utopian-io5 years ago

Introduction

Facebook is the world most popular social media platform, with over a billion users. We all love using this platform, although our reasons for using this platform might be different. Personally speaking, I love using Facebook for online marketing. I can't even recall the last time I made a post or post my photo on Facebook. That notwithstanding, I still spend time on Facebook, viewing my friend's pictures, and reading some exciting stories.
I would love to discuss the different reason why people uses this app. But that's not what I'll be talking about in this post. Instead, I will be talking about the apps we use to access our Facebook accounts.

The official Facebook app is the most popularly used app when Facebooking with over a billion downloads. I'm not surprised by those numbers. After all, there isn't much to hate about this app. Personally, the Facebook app is one of the best apps I ever used. It's simple and user-friendly. It has an excellent design, etc.
Although the Facebook app is good and packed with great features, there are still some essential features I wish this app had.

In this post, I'll be reviewing an open-source third-party Facebook app with those feature missing on the Facebook app. I will be discussing and comparing this app with the official Facebook app.

What is Frost-for-Facebook (shortly 'Frost')?

Screenshot_20190709-161544.png
According to it developer AllanWang:

Frost is a third party Facebook wrapper geared towards design and functionality.
I couldn't agree less with the developer's description after using this app. Frost is a third party Facebook wrapper with features that you can't find on the official Facebook mobile app.

The developer did put in a lot of work, and I must applaud him for that. After downloading and installing this app, I was not expecting much from it. But I was blown away by this app functionality and features. I've used a few third-party Facebook wrapper, but I've haven't seen any that beats this app in terms of features and functionalities.
Sincerely, I wasn't expecting much from this app when I first downloaded it. Because I didn't read it features before launching it. That's why I thought it would be like the other third-party Facebook apps I've used. But I was surprised and impressed by its amazing features and functionality.

Getting started

Screenshot_20190708-201446.png

  • Download Frost from it f-droid link
  • Since it a Facebook wrapper, you must first log in into your Facebook account.
  • After a successful login, the app then welcomes you with a message that says, "Welcome to Frost."
    The welcome screen of this app is a bit different from the welcome screen I used to see on other apps.
  • The next welcome page is where you select your preferred theme.
    The other part of the welcome page describes some of its outstanding features.
  • The next step after the welcome page is a pop up showing the changelog of the app. Click 'Great,' and you are ready to use the app.

Features

Here's is a list of all its features

  • Support for multiple accounts and fast switching
  • Full theming across all activities
  • PIP videos
  • Overlaying browser to read posts and get right back to your previous task
  • Extensive notification support, with bundling, filtering, battery-friendly scheduling, icons, and multiuser support
  • Context menu from any link via long press
  • Native image viewer and downloader via long press
  • Reactive based loading
  • True multiuser support, along with multiuser notifications
  • Fully swipable overlays
  • Fully customizable tabs
  • Video Downloading
  • Notes

Like I said earlier, Facebook app is one of the best apps I've ever used. Nevertheless, there are features that I wish were included in it. In the section, I'll be discussing those outstanding features in Frost that are not in Facebook official app.

Theme Customization

Screenshot_20190708-201513.png

Screenshot_20190708-201817.png

We've all gotten used to the famous blue and white theme of Facebook. It calm, it friendly and other description you might want to add. But since Facebooking is something I do all the time, even at night. I've always wished the official Facebook app has a dark theme option. But it doesn't. This feature is the first reason why Frost is now my best third party Facebook app. Frost has a theme customization option. With four beautiful theme options: Light, Dark, Amoled, Glass. I've used the four themes, and I'm impressed. Thou my favorite is the AMOLED theme. I must say, the developer did an excellent job, including this option.

Write overlay button

Screenshot_20190709-162133.png
This feature allows users to access the post option anywhere on the homepage. On Facebook app to make a post, you have to be on the top of the news feed page. But after going through thousands of post. I still have to go back to the top of the page to make a post. I wish the Facebook app had an overlay post icon. That way I can click and go the compose message page, without going back to the top of the news feed. Well, Facebook app doesn't have this feature. But Frost has it. This is yet another feature I love in this app. The write overlay button allowed me to make a post and continue from where I was in my news feed. Instead of scrolling to the top as it is done with the Facebook app.

Downloading of videos

Screenshot_20190709-115315.png
With millions of videos on Facebook. There are videos I wish to download to my phone but I can't cos this feature is not available on the Facebook app. The only thing users can do is to save the video. Well, this doesn't help very much. Since downloading the video helps save data and stores the video on the user's device. But this feature is included in Frost. I can easily download videos straight to my phone storage without the need for a third-party Facebook video downloading software.
To be able to download a video. You need to enable PIP video features. Which you do by clicking the setting icon, next is the 'Behaviour option,' then the 'Enable PIP.' Without enabling this feature, you won't be able to see the download button when playing a clip.

Picture-in-picture videos
Screenshot_20190709-115323.png

Some people love multitasking. The picture in picture mode allows multitasking. A user can be going through their news feed while watching a video clip. This feature is pretty cool. Another great feature but in included on Facebook app. But with Frost, I'm able to watch videos and go through other pages by enabling the PIP icon.
How to Enable PIP videos
To enable this feature, click the settings icon at the top right corner of the app. Click the" Behavior option," then scroll to the button of the lists. Tick the Enable PIP.
If this PIP feature is not enabled, you can't use this feature or even see the PIP icon.

Notes

Screenshot_20190709-122751.png

Screenshot_20190709-122725.png

This feature is feature allows user's write notes on Facebook. This is my first time seeing a Note feature on Facebook, and I'm impressed.
Just as our usual note apps. There is a text box for 'title' and the 'body' of the post. I can also choose who sees my note and who doesn't. But the thing about this feature is since Facebook doesn't have the 'note feature' you can only see your notes on your timeline. While Frost has a tab named 'Notes" where all user's notes are collected and arranged. So it easily accessible with Frost.

Project updates

The Project has had a total of 83 release from its initial release of Frost v0.3 on June 23, 2017.
The last version released was six days ago as of the time of making this post, which is Frost v2.3.1.
Here's a list of the changes made according to its developers.

  • Hide all story panels if enabled
  • Prevent swipe to refresh if not at the very top
  • Add vertical swipe to dismiss when viewing images
  • Add horizontal scroll support for web views
  • Fix theme for F-Droid builds

Summary

For years I've used the official Facebook app while trying out other third-party Facebook app. In an attempt to get the features I've always wish were included on the Facebook app. But none of those apps gave me what I wanted. Until I came across Frost on F-droid. An open-source third party Facebook wrapper with impressive design and features that can't be found on the Facebook mobile app. With all the feature present in this app. I would say this app has what it takes to be the best Facebook mobile app.
In this post, I've been able to list and discuss some of Frost outstanding features.
From the list of features, you can see that Frost offers a better user experience than the official Facebook app. I strongly recommend that you try out this app. I'm sure you will love it.

Resources

The images used in this post are all from my screenshot.

Links

Download Frost
Frost Github link
My Github link

Sort:  

This is a comprehensive review from you. The post details the app's benefits and your experiences with it. I agree with your views, and I may try the app.

You did great on the content side. The post is extensive, well illustrated, and informative. However, there are areas where you could do better.

First, the side by side images are aligned with the texts, but the single images do not fit in properly. I think it would be better to have the single images placed in the center. Also, in your resources section, you claimed that all images used are your mobile screenshots. What about the first image? That does not look like a mobile screenshot, but the image is not properly sourced.

Also, the writing had issues. Aside from grammar and style, there are quite a few omissions, and some wrong phrased sentences. I will cite an example.

Another great feature but in included on Facebook app. But with Frost, I'm able to watch videos and go through other pages by enabling the PIP icon.

That is not clear. There are more similar issues in the post. I would advise you to dedicate more time to proofread your texts correctly.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Thanks for your review. The first Image is cropped from the full image of my screenshot.

Thank you for your review, @tykee! Keep up the good work!

Congratulations @macspeaks! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 11000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 12000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @macspeaks!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @macspeaks!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!