New Effective SP ranking feature has been integrated in My Steemit Friends

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Tool website: http://mysteemitfriends.online
Github: https://github.com/Bulletproofmonk/MySteemitFriends
Merged Pull Request: https://github.com/Bulletproofmonk/MySteemitFriends/pull/3

New Features

  • What feature(s) did you add?

My Steemit Friends has been upgraded with a new feature, called "Effective SP rank", as you can see the red button on the main page.

image.png

After entering your Steemit User Name and Clicking the red button, you will see your Effective SP ranking, as shown below:

image.png

You can also click the link to see the Effective SP ranking against other users. Screenshot below.

image.png

You may also access the Effective SP ranking directly from the navigation bar at the top of the page to start with the top 50 rankings. On this page you may also search for a particular user to find out their ranking, or you can navigate to a particular page.

image.png

The original features are all still accessible by clicking the blue button on the main page to get the upvote statistics.

image.png

  • How did you implement it/them?
    The data for how many vests a user has can be obtained from SteemSQL. SQL queries were written with PHP. The values required to calculate effective SP from vests were obtained using the SteemJS API and regularly updated using a cron job.

In particular, these specfic changes in coding were made to the following files:

index.php:

  • Created Nav Bar to navigate between 3 tools - Upvote stats, Followers ranking, Effective SP ranking.
  • Added Effective SP Rank button (in red) to find effective SP rank of specified user.
  • Added code for the funionailty of Effective SP rank button.
    Verified

style.css:
Updated CSS styles to include new nav bar background color, hovering color and text color.
Verified

effectiveSP.php
Code for retrieving a list of users ranked by their amount of effective SP. Code for organisation of list into pages and browsing the list. Code for highlighting particular users on the list.

get_esp_rank.php
Code for finding the ranking of a particular user in terms of effective SP and which page on the list they are on, and a link to effectiveSP.php to locate the user on the list.

global.txt
Text file containing the total_vesting_fund_steem and total_vesting_shares values needed to calculate a user's steem power from vesting shares. Updated periodically using updateglobal.php.

updateglobal.php
Retrieve total_vesting_fund_steem and total_vesting_shares using the SteemJS API, and then update values in global.txt for calculation of SP.



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thank you so much!!

Hey @magicmonk I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You are generating more rewards than average for this category. Super!;)
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Thank you so much!

Awesome! I've resteemed!

thank you so much teamsteem!! more to come soon!!

Thank you for your useful information
Re-steemed

33!!!

Amazing achievement!! Thanks for stopping by.

Nice, this looks like a fun tool to play around with. There are so many supporting websites for Steemit. I have been around a while and am still often surprised with things I hadn't heard of, this is one. Thanks for sharing. You are appreciated..

Thank you very much. I'm glad you like it.

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

Life = 42; I too always keep a towel handy ;-) from 1 hitchhiker to another, let's grab a garbbleblaster at the restaurant at the end of the Universe sometime?

Haha woot!! I guess I gotta follow you now since you know the answer to the universe!!

Was introduced to Douglas Adams from a good friend in high school; been a fan ever since! Just love British humor, but not everyone gets it; those books are classics!!

I'm glad you can see what's going on..

great
thanks for this contribution

Thank you for your contribution to the community.

haa thanks so much! I hope to make many improvements to it in the future. Glad it's useful to you. You've got some useful articles too :)

This is feature is welcome as steemwhales.com has not been working properly in the last several months. Thanks a lot!

Thank you :) look forward to a few more upgrades :)

Thank you so much for the upgrade @magicmonk! How are you? How is your Monday?

same as usual alex! what about you?

Same for me too, I am feeling a bit nostalgic, because now we have snow and I miss summer time more than ever! :))

This is a nice tool to have to check my ranking as steem whales seems to be quite out of date and is not nearly as functional as what you've created here...that's what I'd been using to check my ranking in the community until about a month ago. and the other stats displayed are pretty useful as well.

Nice work!

thanks buddy. I'm going to update this regularly so hopefully there should be a lot more data on there soon. cheers.

great addition and v useful app, i appreciated your work @magicmonk

thank you very much :)

Thats a lot of work youce put in. Its awesome, i love playing with stats a youve done a great job.

thanks buddy :)

I found this post because teamsteam restreemed it. Great tool and great feature, it is one I have requested! :) Happy to see it!

thank you for the compliment!

Tried the app and I can I say, it's very useful as it summarizes my activity on steemit. I will resteem this as I believe everyone needs to know and visit the site. Thank you for this ingenuity!

I’ve said it many times - your app is great!

you're very kind :)

That is interesting. I wonder what my rank is.

I was just a few months joining in steemit. and I feel happy and happy that I can join in steemit. and I hope to be able to occasionally read my post and share it and vote.
and I have followed you. and I say thank you.

Hello @teamsteem thank you for the update. I never heard about this tool.

just a suggestion , i hope you get mad or sad about it @magicmonk how about spicing up a bit your UI to make it more appealing to the public ? the background looks very contrasting to the text and it kinda boring in long exposure . You can place a contest here and pretty sure steemians would participate ;)

Ciao ! :)

@cordeta
@steemph