My first commit to SteemJ

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

www.imgur.com/ny3df9i

My first commit to SteemJ

Hello all, today I started my first journey in the Steem world.
My colleague @dez1337 introduced me to his hobby project: the SteemJ Java API Wrapper.
If you never heard about this project you can find further information on his blog.
If you want to actively contribute as well, simply clone the GIT repository as shown below and help to improve the project:

git clone https://github.com/marvin-we/steem-java-api-wrapper

He has been working on this for a long time now, but he said he could always use some extra help on this.
So we sat down today ordered a nice pizza and started to code :)

The SteemJ lib is quite big and powerful already, so it is not so easy for me to start coding right away.
Dez explained me some of this stuff and I was able to get started to work on a first issue.

A current problem right now is that the Steem developers are changing the API calls for the Steem Nodes.
Eventhough this is only happening in the development branch of Steem right now, we need to change the SteemJ library to be able to understand and communicate with the new API calls.
That's what this SteemJ issue is about, to change the existing api calls to the new format.

In commit 61d98d8bc0792fdc164792d87216a65085cac991 and commit aeead1b314cf023a324255873278d5726da61bf9 I've changed the method signature to respect the new '_args' and '_return' objects and also implemented the api objects themselves.

As my GitHub username is not equivalent to my username here on Steemit I've created a Screenshot to prove that those commits have been done by me:

Screenshot GitHub

A problem that I found particularly hard: There seems to be no actual test development API running with the newest changes.
With no test API at hand, I cannot really test my changes...

So for the future I will definately need a working test API. I will do some research and maybe I can find an existing one.
The other option would be to start our own dev node with @dez1337.

But that's it for today :)

Thank you all for reading this post.
Best regards!



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

Contributions to steem's APIs are one of the most useful contributions on this site. Thank you for your work!

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hey @paatrick I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • This is your first accepted contribution here in Utopian. Welcome!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Cool! I follow you.

Congratulations @paatrick! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @paatrick! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!