New Proposed Design For Shotcut Open-source

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Details

Introxxxhdpi.png
Hi everyone, I have here my new proposed design for the open-source application Shotcut. This is application is a free to download video editor developed by MLT. It supports almost all the video and audio formats that is used today. You can check it out here : https://shotcut.org/

Original vs. Official Icon

As you can see in the official icon of the application, It dont have its own designed icon and they only used the icon of of the developer itself which is MLT.
Asset 11xxxhdpi.png

My Concept

My concept in this design is creating a new icon of the application based on its use and title. At the same time, incorporating the developer initials like the original.
conceptxxxhdpi.png

Different Color Backgrounds and Color Codes

I created two color variations for my new design. I just swap the colors from the first one to another. As a result we can see the design in exact opposite of the first design.
Asset 13640x154.png


New Icon one-color version on black and white theme

For the purpose of visibility check i also created a one color version for the design to determine conflicts in outlines and unwanted lines.
bnwxxxhdpi.png

New Icon Mock-up and Web View

image.png


image.png

Icon Sizes without Text

256x256
icon256x256.png
128x128
icon128x128.png
64x64
icon64x64.png

Icon with Text in Web View Size

640x154
with text640x154.png
1280x308
with text1280x308.png

Fonts Used: I used Adobe Illustrator fonts in creating and presenting this design.

"Tw Cen MT Bold"
Fontsxxxhdpi.png

Proof of Works



image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png

Benefits / Improvements

I can say that my design will be beneficial to the application for they will have another concept and options like other contributors do in presenting their designs. My Design is created in vector format
and all the files will be accessible for future use.
image.png

Tools

I used only Adobe Illustrator CC 2017 Version in designing this new Icon including the presentation. You can see below that the designs i made was all at the same file.
image.png

Original files

Here are the links of the files i used in creating the design.

All files and presentation materials i used in this design are all originally created by me.

ALL FILES(Ai,eps,png,svg,pdf)
GithubLink
I provided adobe illustrator available export formats.

Thank you for your time viewing my design :)



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hey @patricjames I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x