New Proposed Icon Design and Concept for MAPS.ME APP

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Details

intro@4x.png
Maps.me is a open source app that is free, fast, detailed and can be used even without internet. It can navigate turn-by-turn navigation.
Today i created a new design concept for its icon. So let me present you my new design and concept.

Original vs. Official Icon

In designing this new icon i created a whole new designed icon from the official design.
comp@4x.png

My Concept

My concept in this design is combining three subjects to form a single icon. The three objects represents a man travelling with seatbelt, entering to a location with road maps.
concept@4x.png

Different Color Backgrounds and Color Codes

I created three optional background colors for the icon. My concept with the color variations are traffic stoplights with colors: GREEN,RED, and YELLOW
codes@4x.png

New Icon one-color version on black and white theme

For visibility check, i recolored the icons in single colored versions. To prove that the lines and objects do not fade or erased.
bnw@4x.png

New Icon Mock-up and Loading Screen

mock-up@4x.png

Mobile Icons and Sizes

192x192
ic_new192px.png
144x144
ic_new144px.png

Icons with Text and Sizes

1280x308
ic_newtext1280x308.png
640x154
ic_newtext640x154.png
512x512
ic_newtext512x512.png
256x256
ic_newtext256x256.png

Font Used and Outlined Fonts

I used adobe illustrator fonts in creating the design and the presentation of the icon and then transformed it to outlined shapes as per updated utopian rules.
font@4x.png
outlined@4x.png

Proof of Works

image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png

Benefits / Improvements

My design will be beneficial to the application for they will have another concept and options like other contributors do in presenting their designs. My Design is created in vector format
and all the files will be accessible for future use.
image.png

Tools

I used only Adobe Illustrator CC 2017 Version in designing this new Icon including the presentation. You can see below that the designs i made was all at the same file.
image.png

Thank you for your time viewing my design :)

Sort:  

Your contribution cannot be approved because it does not follow the Utopian Rules.

  • the symbol is too complicated
  • I think you dont understand what one-color means. You used black and white in your "one color" version. Thats 2.
  • Dont use gradients on each letter separately.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Ok. I'll just move on.
Thanks for your effort reviewing my post.