New Proposed Icon for VLC Player

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Details

Introxxxhdpi.png
Hi there friends, this is my new proposed design for the open source media player VLC. This application mostly plays all video formats available today. It is totally free to download and free from ads.

Original vs. Official Icon

In designing this new icon i recreated the cone shape object from the original logo and made a new concept with it.
OFFICIALxxxhdpi.png

My Concept

My concept in this design is creating the Main title of the app "VLC" made from the cone then delivering the letter "C" with a disc like design which represents a player.
Conceptxxxhdpi.png

Different Color Backgrounds and Color Codes

I created three optional background colors for the icon. My concept with the color variations are shades of blue. I think orange and blue combinations fits well together. Based from the original color of the app orange.
Codesxxxhdpi.png

New Icon one-color version on black and white theme

For visibility check, the icons in black and white color still looks good with the design.
BNWxxxhdpi.png

New Icon Mock-up and Loading Screen

MOCK-UPxxxhdpi.png


Loadingxxxhdpi.png

Proof of Works

image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png

Icon Sizes

192x192pixels
VLC_NEWmdpi.png
144x144pixels
VLC_NEWldpi.png

Fonts

FONTxxxhdpi.png

Benefits / Improvements

In this contribution i created a completely new design of the icon based from the original geometric shapes of the icon and maintained the original color. This contribution will be beneficial to the app for it will add up to lists of the concepts when they choose to change the main icon.
image.png

Tools

I used only Adobe Illustrator CC 2017 Version in designing this new Icon including the presentation. You can see below that the designs i made was all at the same file.
image.png

Original files

Here are the links of the files i used in creating the design.

All files and presentation materials i used in this design are all originally created by me.

ALL FILES(Ai,eps,png,svg,pdf)
GithubLink
I provided adobe illustrator available export formats.

Thank you for your time viewing my design :)



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

@patricjames Very awesome idea with perfect persentation.

Thanks @jaldesign for appreciating my works
Followed you man 😎

good writing I like. expand the work again, and more articles. hopefully a little science that you provide useful to the reader
do not forget to follow me @amirdesaingrafis

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hey @patricjames I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x