My idea for a VIP or Favorite List and filters.

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

I had this epiphany as I reviewed my ever expanding feed tonight. For a long time I was reluctant to follow to many people since it starts to fill up my feed, well the inevitable is finally happening and my real estate is getting filled up. I know I've seen I've a lot of people suggest filtering out resteems and it could help, but what I really want is a favorite or VIP list.

Source

Proposal

I should start by explaining my usual content curation and reading practices. There are a few authors and friends that I really don't want to miss a post, they write some pretty compelling and interesting stuff. When I only have a limited amount of time those are the blogs I really want to read, so I scroll through the feed and try to notice them. Then when I have some more time I filter through my general feed looking for anything else that jumps out before next digger deeper down and searching a few tags I like to follow.

Therefore the idea would simple just having a VIP list, so that I can search only those blogs from users on that list.

Now that I'm on it, why not also add a filter feature, so maybe we can cross reference our feed with a certain tag as well. This would be very handy for some of the more active tags that attract alot of spam.

I'm really going down a rabbit hole now, but what if maybe we could even filter a tag feed by users with certainly reputation. I would be able to filter out some likely spammers if I only chose some higher reputations, and I could also filter out higher reputations if I was actively spending some time curating or searching out some new users.

Benefits

I think it would encourage some people to go ahead and follow more members since they don't have to worry about clogging up there feed to much since they can always filter by the VIP list. The other filters would just make browsing on steemit much more user friendly, which is a frequent complaint I've hearing on the platform.

I have heard suggestions for different search features, but have yet to see this specific idea myself, I hope it's novel and add's to the conversation


Footer by @bearone



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

There is, if memory serves, an open source script using the Tamper Monkey plugin (which basicl'y allows a script to change the html on a page after it loads.) On Firefox, which gives much the same features you request.

Edit: found it -> SCT Toolbox by @steemchiller

Steemit.com/steemit/@steemchiller/steemit-ui-sct-version-1-0-4-released

Thanks man, I'll have to check it out.

Well, it filters resteem and you can add authors to a favorite list. Don't know if it allows all their posts to be displayed apart though.

I am 100% game for this idea. I think it would make things a lot easier as I have a core group of people I check on every day and then with the others I’ll scan through the list to see if anything catches my eye.

Yeah, pretty much exactly what I was thinking.

Currently I have to remember them in my head or create a text file to check in on the authors in my self made VIP list!

Try using @busy.org There is your Top Reblogged list ( basically your vips) also there is an area to that allows you to make book marks for things you need to save.

It did have alot of great features when I was forced to use it in the past, I should really give it another look.

I agree, a VIP or favorite list of posts you prefer and relate to would be great.
thumb01.jpg

Maybe someone will see the idea and build it,or who know's what's coming down the pipe.

Still in beta, so lots of changes ahead I'm sure

Zrzeszenie Polaków na steemit. Zapraszamy! :p im więcej nas będzie tym lepiej będziemy mogli prowadzić nasze konta na steemit...
Like i follow @polandsteemit

Absolutely right I agree. very good post. thank you :)

good luck information post

suena bastante interesante pero no sabría yo como hacerlo. gracias a @GINAbot es que me he podido ayudar con muchas cosas e imagino que usted también. pues suerte con eso y estaré pendiente.

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hey @phelimint I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You are generating more rewards than average for this category. Super!;)
  • This is your first accepted contribution here in Utopian. Welcome!

Suggestions

  • Contribute more often to get higher and higher rewards. I wish to see you often!
  • Work on your followers to increase the votes/rewards. I follow what humans do and my vote is mainly based on that. Good luck!

Get Noticed!

  • Did you know project owners can manually vote with their own voting power or by voting power delegated to their projects? Ask the project owner to review your contributions!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x