You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing SteemPress beta, a wordpress plugin for steem

in #utopian-io6 years ago

@howo and @fredrikaa well done! This plugin might be what I needed to upgrade my WordPress MarketingBytes.io blog to a support tier where I can choose the plugins. I did have a question though around duplicate content and getting dinged with your SEO page ranking. From what I understand, Steem is a platform that can be crawled by Google/Bing/other search engines. If that is the case, would cross publishing to Steemit actually hurt your main blog's SEO? If so, would you think it's worth it to put a canonical URL in your blog pointing to the Steemit post as being authoritative, or do you think it just wouldn't matter? Would love to hear your thoughts around this matter. Thanks!

Sort:  

Thanks for your interest !

would cross publishing to Steemit actually hurt your main blog's seo ?

Potentially, we've never actually noticed that. but in theory it might.

If so, would you think it's worth it to put a canonical URL in your blog pointing to the Steemit post as being authoritative, or do you think it just wouldn't matter?

No don't do that, if you put a canonical link on your main blog pointing to steem then you basically nuke your blog saying "steem is the original link, point to them instead of me". What we need going the other way around, canonical and backlinks on steem.

For now there is no support for canonical links on steemit/busy etc. So but I am working on a new standard so it'll be implemented.

For now we'll add a backlink, which will be added in the v1 release.

Edit : missclicked and upvoted myself instead of you ^^'

Thanks so much—yes, I would love to see the ability to add the canonical link on Steemit instead of my blog. I just asked your thoughts because the only option for that would be currently to do it to the personal blog (and as you said, it would nuke). Again, really appreciate the work—thanks so much!

@howo @pinojo This is what I thought about avoiding duplicate content issue.

But I i have one more suggestion: Let that self-referencing canonical tag be there in the WordPress post. But we can post 1st 100 words excerpt on steemit and link back to original WordPress blog post URL.

Okay this is just a random thing and I know this post is old but @howo how about not using steemit at all, maybe busy or steemspeak would allow a canonical link? Fact is, the post is going to display and get crawled on several interfaces. The content is not really duplicated on steemit busy steemspeak etc. Google just thinks every site is centralized. So it will always be dozens of displays of every steem article, and sill yet all of the blockchain sites still have great seo. I don't think it's much of an issue for seo, but if adding canonical, it may be easier to get other interfaces to add a canonical than steemit?