You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Libra - Thoughts on the Potential Effects on the Crypto Sphere

in #utopian-io5 years ago

You could be right! Time will tell.
But as I've argued in the post, for crypto in general Libra seems to be a very powerful catalyzing force, crypto on-boarding potentially billions of people worldwide, who will be acquainted with Bitcoin and other value-providing blockchains and crypto currencies, giving people a choice.

The way I see it, Libra will enable people to spend crypto (most arguably: Bitcoin) via the Libra Found Partners infrastructure. Crypto won't be "for techies only", but genuinely mass-adopted. What else could be expected in the case of mass-adoption than the "powers that be" being active in crypto as well?

Sort:  

Adoption is the primary point of the whole endeavor I'm sure and it will do its trick well. I just hope that this opens people's eyes to the greater crypto world and the immense number of extremely valuable projects that have been languishing due to the constant ebb and flow of interest. More people using any crypto will help increase the visibility of all other crypto. At least that is my hope.

More people using any crypto will help increase the visibility of all other crypto. At least that is my hope.

To this I fully agree, and this is a component of why I'm (at least for now!) embracing Libra! I think Libra empowers crypto, disrupts the current "old-skool" financial ecosystem.