Steem Social - Easily Share SteemIt Posts - Social Media Hub

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

What is Steem Social?

The main purpose of the app is to help promote SteemIt posts to various social media channels such as Facebook, Google Plus, LinkedIn, Pinterest, etc. And at the same time it will provide a simple analytics of the shared posts depending on the data availability of the APIs from these channels. We will also create metrics to rank posts according to the number of likes, comments, and shares gathered.

The idea was inspired by existing applications that allow users to post to different social media channels from one application. But for this project, we will only be managing the posts that we can pull from the SteemIt API and share them to different channels. This app will serve as a medium to easily share SteemIt posts and at the same time create shared posts that are visually appealing.

Technology Stack

  • SteemJS
  • Yii PHP Framework
  • HTML/CSS - Bootstrap Framework
  • jQuery / JS
  • APIs from Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Google, LinkedIn, Pinterest, etc.

Currently the project was built using old school technologies mainly because I will be reusing ready made API's that I have worked on my previous projects. Part of my roadmap is to rewrite everything to NodeJS or probably Django, still weighing things.

If you have comments and ideas that will surely help improve the project please don't hesitate to leave a comment or contact me.

Roadmap

This project is a bit broad and might be a little too ambitious, but here are the following features that I'd like to see in the future. This is taking into consideration that the main goal of this project is to become a social media hub to promote SteemIt and the contents that we have on this platform. The items below are still rough roadmap items, will discuss each of them further once I started working on them.

  • Blog Feeds (Work In Progress)
  • Sharing Capability to other Social Media Channels
  • Browser Plugins (extend sharing capabilities to SteemIt website)
  • Mobile Compatibility (initial goal is to support Mobile Web, site is already viewable but need further UI enhancements)
  • Separate Android and iOS Application
  • Site Analytics

The items below are not the major concern as of the moment as most of these may require a little funding. But this is greatly needed moving forward. The Utopian rewards and the support on my posts will be used to fund the project.

  • Revamp the Design
  • Setup a much more suitable hosting and environment for this project

Currently, we are temporarily staged at https://nihongonewbie.com/user/feed/shoganaii

The site is pretty much a work in progress, but since it's a big one will try to work on this in phases. The first phase includes the initial framework of the project built using Yii and Bootstrap. The initial features includes a capability to pull data from SteemIt via SteemJS, specifically the user information and the blog posts. I have also added a Facebook sharing capability. A lot of work still needs to be done, but as mentioned will go along with it in phases.

The goals for the next phase would be:

  • Optimize the layout of the SteemIt Feeds and Posts
  • Add Support for Twitter and Google
  • Revamp UI and other Frontend Enhancements

How to Use

The project is currently hosted at https://nihongonewbie.com/user/feed/shoganaii.
You can change "shoganaii" to any SteemIt user that you want to check the feeds. On each feed, you have a Facebook Button.

When the button is clicked you will be asked to Login via Facebook and accept the needed permissions. Once done, the post will be shared on your user timeline. Facebook login is no longer neede if you are already login, and the permissions will only be asked once. The next time you share a post, it will automaticall be posted on your wall. Just need to add some notifications after the share was made.

I will create a much more detailed user guide in a bit. Stay tuned.

How to Contribute?

So far, I was the only one working on this project. But once I already have stable version and release, I will be asking some contributions from other developers as well as there are technologies that I am still not familiar with. This is also a great way to speed up the development process and hopefully the work that we will be doing will benefit the entire SteemIt Community.

As of this stage, most of the work needed are design related. I will be creating tasks requests later on to help me with the project, so I am very much looking forward for everyone's support. There will be bounties but I won't promise much.

If you would like to contribute to the project or have suggestions or ideas that will greatly help SteemSocial, you can contact me at [email protected] or at Discord (shoganaii).

Related Links



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Much needed functions! At first it will be helpful to promote steem as social media platform. At second, just convenient.

Thanks for the support!
Stay tuned for the next releases.
Cheers!

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

Please include pull requests or commits that are relevant to the improvements you are making on the project for the next posts.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hey @helo, I just gave you a tip for your hard work on moderation. Upvote this comment to support the utopian moderators and increase your future rewards!

This is noted @helo.
Will add detailed commits on my next posts.
Thank you.

Hey @shoganaii I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Severino thank you very much for submitting the budget proposal for this 15 days ago at https://steemit.com/budget/@shoganaii/steem-social-easily-share-steemit-posts-and-data-analytics-budget-proposal which I just finally read today! We will love having the option to make sharing to other social media easier from Steem and appreciate your work on this project!

You asked for 100 SBD two weeks ago when the price was higher and today it is about half of what it was.

We are funding this project for 200 SBD to start to help you with the domain and design costs!

Resteemed!

Wow. Thank you so much for the support.
Hope I will not disappoint you and will work hard to launch this project.
Greatly needed it. Will keep you posted on my recent updates.
Cheers!

Really interesting! I am not in IT, so a bit unfamiliar with certain terms in your article. However, I am in digital marketing and am really interested in finding out more about the site analytics aspect. How can I learn more about this aspect of your project? I might have some ideas for you...

Hi @jessicapixie.
Thanks for your interest in this project.
I still haven't gotten into working with the analytics part, as I am the only one working on the project as of the moment, it will probably take me sometime before I can get to it.
For project updates, you can check my feeds, so far the last 3 posts are all about Steem Social.
Just keep posted, will make a post every now and then.
Cheers!

Perfect, I just followed you, so I am looking forward to seeing how this cool project progresses. Let me know if you are interested in collaborating!

Hey thats great work keep it up man! :)

Thanks for the support. Cheers!

Very interesting, have fun coding. I think my current project is a little too ambitious too, but's that's how you're gonna learn! Mistakes.

Thanks @andreistalker.
Every great project started with a simple concept.
A little ambition is quite a good recipe to have especially in the early stages.
Cheers!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 6 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 21 SBD worth and should receive 90 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Brilliant project. Good luck with the Developmenten. In case you want help with online marketing and advertising for your tool let me know.

Thanks for the support and the offer. I will surely need some help with marketing and advertising soon.
As of the moment, I am focusing with the development works.
Will surely keep in mind your offer when I need it.
Cheers!

I love this project.....with a wonderful information

Glad you liked it. Thanks for dropping by.

Thanks sir.....i will be expecting more

thank you

thank you

Is Steem Social up and running? Can I create an account on it to upload to Facebook? Just wondering.

Of course you can. It doesn't work that way though, you don't need to create an account. Just check the How to Use section above.

Be warned though, still a work in progress. There may be bugs ang some issues. :)

Thanks for sharing valuable post.
I continue follow your post.
I appreciate your contest

Amazing project. Wish you luck. Following you now!

It is important that we see as an information network, where we can offer relevance in relation to each issue as out of service, without the need to replace Facebook which is almost impossible, but we do continue to grow in the users who will use the benefits offered to whom write and who reads it

Nice photos. they deserve an award. It is very nice. great work