Delegate Auto Introduction

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

What is Delegate Auto?


The problem


I've noticed that a lot of users (especially larger users) delegate about half their steem power to either bots or projects they believe in. The problem here is that, as far as I'm aware, this is all done manually, so the account holders have to do a number of inconvenient things:

  • They must work out how many VESTS/SP they need to send where for it to only take up a certain percentage of their SP, working with percentages is much easier than working with absolute values.
  • They also have to update it manually on occasion as some accounts grow by a couple of hundred SP a week just from posting and curation.
  • If the account owner believes a certain project needs a higher share than before and they want to take that stake from a different project they support, the process is tedious enough to stop people from doing it meaning promising new projects may miss out on delegations.

I've had a look around, and as far as I'm aware, nothing like this exists publicly so it doesn't compare to any projects I know of, however it is possible that I missed something.

My solution


To deal with the points mentioned above, I made a script where you enter your requirements into a JSON database that looks something like this:

{
    "user_info":{
        "username":"USERNAME_HERE",
        "private_active_key":"PRIVATE_ACTIVE_KEY_HERE",
        "update_delay_hours":24},

    "delegations":{
        "utopian-io":30,
        "comedyopenmic":10,
        "curie":10}
}

This means the delegations are recalculated and redistributed every 24 hours, 30% going to @utopian-io, 10% to @comedyopenmic, and 10% going to @curie.

So ideally, you could leave this script running in the background on a PC or server. If you want to change the delegations during runtime, that's totally fine since it's an external file and doesn't require you to stop and restart.

The username and private key are entered through the external file because I plan to build this program into executables for Windows/Mac/Linux. It also makes sense if I plan to add support for multiple accounts at once.

Features summary


  • Easily manage your delegations
  • Automatically update delegations to a percent of net SP
  • Node swapping for optimum uptime
  • Choose how quickly the delegations update

View the full project on Github

Demonstration


Below you can see the result of my test where I delegated 2% to @utopian-io and 1% to @minnowbooster, @curie and @comedyopenmic. Unfortunately, to undelegate it takes a week, so testing with larger quantities wasn't feasible however I imagine there wouldn't be any problems.



Technology


My setup


  • Python 3.6.5
  • Anaconda IDE
  • Windows 10 64bit

External libraries




Roadmap


While this program has most of its functionality sorted out, there are a couple of things I have in mind as to the direction this could take:

  • Firstly, I plan to make this script into executable PC files for the main three platforms (Win, Mac, Linux). This is to make the program more accessible to non technical users.
  • Another feature I have in mind is the ability to use the same layout on multiple accounts at once, say you have three accounts they could all follow the same delegation pattern and update automatically.
  • Finally, I see this project's end state being online, in website form (similar to steemvoter), so anyone can access it and automatically delegate, easily and cleanly, in proportion to their account size.


How to contribute


If I'm going to take this to the web, I'll probably need help from someone more experienced with web development than myself, so get in touch with me on discord at sisygoboom#6775 if you're capable!

If you think you can improve the project in any way, non web people are welcome to help out too so just send a message my way with your idea at sisygoboom#6775 (discord).



Sort:  

Thanks for the share, great work as always! @sisygoboom

Ps
You make a post on your recent success mining raven!

Oh damn, I'd completely forgotten I had RVN, it's went up like 9001%!

Great work. I'm working on bringing my studio to Steem and this percentage based external delegation is great. Keep up the great work as usual.

Thanks for the feedback :) hoping it proves useful for you.

Loading...

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 9 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 34 SBD worth and should receive 103 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hey @sisygoboom

We're already looking forward to your next contribution!

Contributing on Utopian

Learn how to contribute on our website or by watching this tutorial on Youtube.

Utopian Witness!

Vote for Utopian Witness! We are made of developers, system administrators, entrepreneurs, artists, content creators, thinkers. We embrace every nationality, mindset and belief.

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV