Sort:  

Feels good being on the top again

My tutorial wasn't staff picked, so I am not sure why you are saying it was.

Staff picks can happen also after voting @tensor ;)

That kind of minimizes the reward of being staff picked.

Not only did I not receive the vote boost from being staff picked, I also didn't get a notification that I was staff picked and from this data, its clear that the only reason I was staff picked is because I am the only one contributing to video tutorials.

That doesn't sit right with me frankly but whatever.

Staff picks only happen if the community managers agree on that. There is no rule or convention or any kind of need for us to pick something because the category had no competition, so your assumption here is wrong. The community manager simply liked what you did and wanted to bring it to this list when he was asked if there was anything deserving to be here. Weird to complain when your work is being appreciated honestly.

Not complaining, just merely pointing out that being retroactively staff picked is much less impactful for the article then being staff picked prior to the vote. Staff picking marks the article as a 100% on utopian rocks which in turns drives more potential votes/views. On the other hand, just mentioning it in an article after might drive a few views but not nearly as many.

In my case, its also pretty odd that the article was voted and reviewed the same day that it was retroactively staff picked. Again, just doesn't seem like a good way to apply the reward because a less invested contributor might interpret it as some kind of loop hole in the system. Article gets staff picked but doesn't get the reward etc.

I understand that. Staffpicking after vote is not that often anyway. I will chat with the CM about this

I am aware that the practice isn't often done so it's not a big deal so don't worry about it too much.

It is of course an honor to be staff picked. sorry if it sounded like I wasn't grateful. Just a little surprised and wasn't in the best mood yesterday.

Hi, @utopian-io!

You just got a 0.15% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Typo: "coding with Qusar framework" --- but otherwise a huge honour, thank you!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 13 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 9 SBD worth and should receive 200 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig