You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing: Steem Messenger (Beta)

in #utopian-io • 6 years ago

Cool idea 😎 @therealwolf

  • One of the first shortcomings I noticed about Steemit, was discussions and chat had to be taken to an external site. I really disliked being told to go to Steem.chat or discord.
    • Perhaps the Steemit devs or devs of other front ends could add your code so it would be built into the UI of choice. ??? That would be even cooler.
      • I'll +1 @roomservice's idea of using this as the basis of public chatrooms. IMHO, that's a doable and needed idea.

I'm looking at https://github.com/therealwolf42/steemmessenger/releases

  • For my windoze box, do I download and run Steem.Messenger.Setup.0.1.0.exe ?

When I get home and want to install this on my Manjaro (Arch based) Linux box, I'm not sure what to do...

As far as the passwords, are they only stored (encrypted) on my local box? or am I giving you access to them through the program? I think I already know the answer, but I'm seeing a few comments where a bit of clarification would calm their nerves...

Sort:  

One more question. Is this program smart enough to know who I follow? I'm thinking maybe ajax could be used as I start typing someone's name, first checking to see if I follow them and then if not, choosing from the entire user name list of everyone on steemit? That list on the left in the above graphic of having a discussion, is that people I follow? Is that list customizable through your program?

  • I'm just thinking, if I'm trying to hold a private conversation, I wouldn't want to accidentally send it to the wrong person because of a misspelling of the user name...

The list on the left side are the conversations you have already in the past.

Currently, you have to check for yourself if the username is correct.

OK Thanks

Thank you!

Yes for windows you download the exe.

When I get home and want to install this on my Manjaro (Arch based) Linux box, I'm not sure what to do...

I personally don't run linux except for servers - and I've only tested it only ubuntu. Does one of the versions avaialble work on your linux machine?

As far as the passwords, are they only stored (encrypted) on my local box? or am I giving you access to them through the program? I think I already know the answer, but I'm seeing a few comments where a bit of clarification would calm their nerves...

Everything is stored locally - encrypted. Steem Messenger is not a service but a tool :)

Thanks for clarifying.

  • I'll let you know if I'm able to get it going on my Linux box...