V4V.app Is Ready For Brazil and A Limit Decrease

in #v4vapp-v24 months ago

Support Proposal 265 on PeakD
Vote for Brianoflondon's Witness KeyChain or HiveSigner

This is a value for value post: see the explanation in the footer.


Brazilian Portuguese!

First news is that v4v.app now has Portuguese as a language option, huge thanks to @vaipraonde! He's put in the Brazilian variant of Portuguese using the system on Crowdin which anyone can use, if you want to add another language let me know!.

Lightning Transaction Limits

I had to reduce the upper limit on Lightning transactions from 500,000 sats (200 HBD) to 250,000 sats (100 HBD). I had originally set 500k back when BTC was below $18,000 USD but as it has climbed past $40,000 now, I have had to adjust limits down. The issue is that the Lightning network itself struggles with larger transfers and it makes it very hard for me to ensure that a specific request will work. I also have to move sats around in the background to keep everything working.

For example, even Binance has a 2,000,000 sat limit on transactions and I'm sure this is because they have similar issues to what I see.

The latest limits and fees are spelled out in this post.

Quasar and Javascript Grrrr

Now this actually took me longer to release than it should and I'm going to just vent a little here.

Javascript

I hate this. I hate everything about the entire eco system of it. I last edited the files for the v4v.app site back in the middle of December. So when I saw that @vaipraonde had updated the language I thought I'd open up VSCode on the project, add 3 lines to include his language and bada-bing bada-boom it would be done... but ohhhh no.

This code is running in production but will it load on my machine at home? No.

After fixing that little strangeness it threw some more weirdness at me which I had to edit code which had been working before but suddenly was wrong.

Until eventually I could change a few lines and add in Brazilian Portuguese as a new language. With flag, which is nice.


Value for Value

For the last few months while building @v4vapp I was generously supported by the DHF. Going forward I have a much more modest support which covers direct server costs and a little of my time.

If you appreciate the work I do on and around Hive, you can express this directly: upvoting posts on Hive is great. Also consider a direct donation (there's a Tip button on Hive or a Lightning Address) on all my posts.

hivebuzz-orca-120.png

Support Proposal 265 on PeakD
Support Proposal 265 with Hivesigner
Support Proposal 265 on Ecency
Vote for Brianoflondon's Witness KeyChain or HiveSigner


Send Lightning to Me!

Sort:  

Great! Will check on app it and if any
language improvement needed I let you know.

Tested and looking good! I checked on mobile and desktop.

@brianoflondon just FYI: I noticed that when I switched to POS page, the language reset to English. but this is another subject.

That's probably just an issue with caching after a version change. It should clear up and not do that eventually.

There's going to be a new release very soon, when that goes up, there are a few more phrases to translate.

Count on me

This is really a great initiative and nice update to hear about

ahaan Brazil peeps are lucky ;)

Maybe you can also help translating the app. 😊

I think the way you actually reduce the transaction cost to 100 HBD is actually great also

Progress in everything is the best thing one could ever want. It's great news about these updates you shared. Keep up the good work.

This is awesome and I’m sharing this with my Twitter friends right away
Keep it up!

Keep up the good work Brian, and all the other stuff too :)

It really a nice initiative adding the new language to participate in this.