A TRIP TO THE ANCIENT TOWN OF OPOBO #MY EXPERIENCE

in #vacation6 years ago (edited)

FB_IMG_1525629212391.jpg

I went on a tour to opobo town late last year December to be precise. I had a whole lot of fun and my experience is almost indescribable. I left for the town of opobo on the 27th of December with few of my friends the journey was a bit uneventful but became a bit lively when we boarded a speed boat to take us into the main town where the real fun was in wait for us. When I and my friends got to opobo the first thing we saw was the Town entrance
"WELCOME TO THE ANCIENT TOWN OF OPOBO"

FB_IMG_1525629194331.jpg
We were then taken to a hotel where we lodged at opobo, named "OPUBO HOTEL"the town was beautiful,
FB_IMG_1525635446024.jpg

had a cool friendly weather, it's scenery was what could be said to be a mini-heaven. The first place we visited was the king jaja village square where masqueraders were displaying at the "NWAOTAM" festival most people were scared but I and my friends weren't since am a native of the land so we joined in the dancing and cheering. The masquerades were so energetic and danced vigorously to the sound of the drums, they would stop abruptly at intervals and act as though they were conversing with unseen beings.
FB_IMG_1525629837655.jpg

FB_IMG_1525628643183.jpg
It was such a fun filled day for us watching the masquerades and we finally went back to the hotel when we were exhausted to rest and prepare for the following day.

The next day, we continued on our tour and this time around I and my friends joined a church (salvation ministries)in an outreach and it was fun also. We went in a speed boat to another part of the town we evangelised and made converts it was really fun for me telling people about who I love so much "God".
FB_IMG_1525628591877.jpg

When we were done with the outreach we proceeded to a museum where we saw different artifacts things we had only heard of in folktales were staring directly at us. We saw the ancient staff of honour, mantle of peace, gun boat and many others.
We partook in the "operation keep opobo clean" exercise in the course of the exercise we came across the king jaja monument the, warrior king his people's hero. We took pictures there before leaving and heading back to our lodge.
FB_IMG_1525629406134.jpg
it was such an eventful day and we were really spent but all the same had fun. Later that same evening we had a football match comprising of both male and females of which my team won the other team 3:0 and a award was given to us by the organizers of the event.

The next day we were set to leave the beautiful town of opobo back to our base we were happy and everyone agreed to the fact that we really had a nice time at opobo town.

THANKS FOR READING..
DQmc8Wnje1iRWDDfebnK8bD5eDQc8VuXoVENGauwKGxVjER_1680x8400.pngDQmNtnKK9sBZRD6TrhKMrKi8m7ejEYm1KuXsyLcNLzmoQps.png

Sort:  

OMG! This is awesome... What a wonderful experience you had in opobo @jajafresh... I have heard so much about the town and I wish to visit there someday, I can see the Statue of King jaja... Interesting... Keep it up bro..

Opobo is such an amazing place... You will love it there I swear

Cool...I see masquerades ☺ Nice trip makes me feel like going on one too. Good job

The masquerades are scary to ladies poo... But your going to have a nice time if you visit opobo

Wow.. It looks beautiful.. I'm glad you had a great time

Thanks bro for the compliment..

It's on my bucket list to visit opobo.. Great travels

Thanks for reading this piece

Awesome beautiful pictures @jajafresh

Great place! I will be there by the end of this month

Do well to contact me when you get there. You will love it

Interesting.. You really had fun i must confess.. The part that trills me is the sea aspect I have never been on a boat before..

Yes sure I did have fun

Wow.. Reading your piece on your trip to opobo made me to want to visit that town someday.. Enjoy

Am glad you love it

Nice piece ..very well written ...i can see you had much fun..

Thanks bro.. I appreciate

Beautiful place... I guess you must have loved this place to come up with such an interesting piece

Yeah.. I love the place was fun-filled althrough ..

Great! Loving every bit of this trip ...nice write up

Very nice read! I was in opobo 2015 for a job at opubo Hotel... Such a great place

Am glad you could testify about the place..

Awesome! Nice pics ..you really enjoyed your stay... Legend King jaja of opobo

Amazing! I must visit the kingdom in no time..
I want to see the statue of King Haha.. All this while it's just stories have been hearing.. This is great

Lol.. It's king jaja not not king haha, may be it's a typographical error tho...its a cool place to visit honestly

Wow.. Never taught there are still cool places like this to your around ...This is beautiful

Yes ooo..now you know... You can decide to visit the place during your vacation

Opobo is such a great town... I have been there like twice and I can testify that you enjoyed yourself big time....

Yeah I did

@jajafresh you went on a tour without me.. Not fair.. I have wanted to visit that town... I can see you really had fun to the fullest.... Nice one sha....

Hahaha my friend don't worry am planning to go for another trip you definitely join me this time...

Wow... This tour was fun althrough... I wish i could see this kingdom someday

It's a matter of decision making... just make out time from your busy schedules and go for a little vacation

Wow. I wish I went there with you😍😍😍

Awe baby... Don't worry the next trip you will join me

Great! I love every bit of this tour... Nice piece dear.. 😍

Thanks dear

wow... See grooving

No be small

I love every bit of what I see here.. Nice piece bro...

Wow... This is awesome

Great ....you really had fun

sure I did

I have heard alot about that ancient kingdom and from my findings is a nice place

it is a nice place

See enjoyment... I must visit this town

Please do oo

This is amazing

Nice articles you put on here..

Thanks dear

I love this your article

Thanks I'm honored