Smallest Cathedral in the world

in #vacation7 months ago

The church in Nin, built around 800, is called the “smallest cathedral in the world”, although it was most likely never the seat of a bishop. The construction of the church raised questions for a long time: the perfection of the proportions contrasted with the lack of essential structural features.

Today we know that the dimensions of the church walls, doors and windows were adapted to the different lighting conditions within a year and also within a day. It could therefore also serve as a calendar and clock.

Nin 2.jpg

If you ever come to Nin (beautiful old town but unfortunately overrun with tourists in the summer), try to sing in this church. It's such a beautiful sound! I don't have a great voice, but it sounded like I was the best singer around!😅 (I'm not exaggerating :)) At first I sang for fun for my daughter, timid at the beginning but encouraged by such a great sound, I dared to let my voice get louder and louder. At the end I fell into a meditative mood with "OM" and my eyes closed. A great experience that money can't buy.
The church is also called the “acoustic cathedral”. Inside it is completely empty, even the windows are open, without glass.
It's best to go in late in the evening when no one is there.

Nin 1.jpg

Thanks everyone! <3
Cheers!